Word of the Day Wednesday: mephistopheles

It’s been a while since I’ve published the Word of the Day. It started with my daughter as explained in this post. We took a little break from the Word of the Day during the summer. I only taught her a handful of new words during that time.

When she told me she had to come up with a nickname at school using the first letter of her name and she settled on the Capricious Catfish (lol), I knew I had to resurrect the Word of the Day again. She chose the word because she likes it, not because it describes her. Seriously, she has one mood: happy.

I’ve decided to limit the post to Wednesdays. Today’s word appears in the lyrics from this past Musical Monday (OneRepublic’s Love Runs Out) and another from several months ago (Wrapped Around Your Finger by The Police).

Meph·is·toph·e·les noun \ˌme-fə-ˈstä-fə-ˌlēz\

:  a chief devil in the Faust legend.

Definition source: http://www.merriam-webster.com

 

2 thoughts on “Word of the Day Wednesday: mephistopheles”

  1. HUGE Police fan in my time – never thought to look up the word. Hmmm.

    Mephistopheles is not my name (and I don’t know what you’re up to just the same),

    I’m glad to see a least he is a CHIEF devil. With a name like that, it wouldn’t do to be a subordinate.

    Thanks for visiting my blog today!

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

