Have You Been Called to Rise?

We Never Know How High We Are

by Emily Dickinson

We never know how high we are

Till we are called to rise;

And then, if we are true to plan,

Our statures touch the skies.

The Heroism we recite

Would be a daily thing,

Did not ourselves the Cubits warp

For fear to be a King.

Why did I choose this poem for my IWSG post? It speaks to the limiting nature of insecurity. Here is my interpretation:

We never know how high we are

Till we are called to rise;

We don’t know what we’re capable of until we’re tested.

And then, if we are true to plan,

Our statures touch the skies.

If we rise to the occasion, our confidence increases. We realize our limits have been self-imposed.

The Heroism we recite

Would be a daily thing,

We could do great things…

Did not ourselves the Cubits warp

For fear to be a King.

if we just believed in ourselves, but often our self-doubt prevents us from reaching our true potential. Fear holds us back. We’re afraid of the responsibility that comes with power.

“With great power comes great responsibility.” ~ Voltaire

For those who may not know, a cubit is an ancient unit of measure based on the distance between the elbow and the tip of the middle finger. “Did not ourselves the cubits warp” means that we misinterpret our self-worth, we distort our measure.

Don’t let fear hold you back. Rise to the occasion. Be a king.

What is the Insecure Writers Support Group?

IWSG badgePurpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

Posting: The first Wednesday of every month is officially Insecure Writer’s Support Group day. Post your thoughts on your own blog. Talk about your doubts and the fears you have conquered. Discuss your struggles and triumphs. Offer a word of encouragement for others who are struggling. Visit others in the group and connect with your fellow writer – aim for a dozen new people each time.

The IWSG is the brainchild of Alex J. Cavanaugh. This month’s co-hosts are:  Laura at My Baffling Brain, Mark Koopmans, Shah Wharton, and Sheena-Kay Graham! Please visit their blogs and thank them for supporting this amazing group.

Are you an insecure writer? Would you like to join the group? Click here for the sign up page.

13 thoughts on “Have You Been Called to Rise?”

  1. Hi Melissa! Wonderful post… Sorry it took me a while to do my IWSG rounds, but I just came home from a five day stay at the hospital. Not a happy camper. I’m playing catchup now.

    Your post aligns perfectly with my two: Rejection and Insecurities. Yes, August was just one of those months. I’m going to be working extra hard in the coming weeks and will be looking forward to kicking butt with you in November’s NaNo! Hugs. Eva

    1. No worries. I’m still working my way through IWSG posts, too. Sorry to hear you were in the hospital. Five days sounds serious. I hope everything is okay.

      And yes, here’s to NANO! 🙂

      1. I’ll explain more to you in an email. I’ll post about it at some point later. I’m doing better now. Thanks for asking. I love that you’re here for me. Xoxoxo. I love my blogger friends. You all keep me going more than you realize. Hugs, Eva

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

