Musical Monday: Wrapped Around Your Finger by The Police

Sting (born Gordon Matthew Thomas Sumner) wrote the song Wrapped Around Your Finger when he was a member of the pop band The Police. Released in 1983, the song was one of five hit singles from the Synchronicity album. Although it never reached number one, it remains one of my favorite songs from the band because of the brilliant lyrics.  There are many interpretations of the song meaning: a rocky divorce (which Sting was going through at the time), a young man caught up in a relationship with an older married woman, and the conflict between Sting and his older more experienced band member, Andy Summers.

Like many of Sting’s songs, it has literary and mythological references to imply meaning. The term Scylla and Charybdis is often used to describe a situation where a person is caught between a rock and a hard place; forced to choose the lesser of two evils. The idiom is derived from Homer’s ancient Greek poem The Odyssey, where Odysseus faces a difficult choice. In order to pass through the Strait of Messina he must choose between two life threatening obstacles: Scylla, a six headed sea monster, or Charybdis, a deadly whirlpool. Avoiding one, meant exposure and certain death for all or some of his shipmates to the other.

In literature it refers to the road of trials along the Hero’s Journey, which I’ll discuss in more detail later. Stay tuned.

 

“Wrapped Around Your Finger”

You consider me the young apprentice
Caught between the Scylla and Charybdis.
Hypnotized by you if I should linger
Staring at the ring around your finger.
I have only come here seeking knowledge,
Things they would not teach me of in college.
I can see the destiny you sold
turned into a shining band of gold.
I’ll be wrapped around your finger.
I’ll be wrapped around your finger.
Mephistopheles is not your name,
But I know what you’re up to just the same.
I will listen hard to your tuition,
And you will see it come to it’s fruition.

I’ll be wrapped around your finger.
I’ll be wrapped around your finger.

Devil and the deep blue sea behind me
Vanish in the air you’ll never find me.
I will turn your face to alabaster,
Then you’ll find your servant is your master,

And you’ll be wrapped around my finger.
I’ll be wrapped around your finger.
You’ll be wrapped around my finger.
I’ll be wrapped around your finger…..

7 thoughts on “Musical Monday: Wrapped Around Your Finger by The Police”

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

