Musical Monday: In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida by Iron Butterfly

Sue Archer at Doorway Between Worlds introduced me to a new blog titled In the Garden of Eva. The blog title might make you wonder if it’s a play on the biblical Garden of Eden. If you’re like me, you might think it’s a play on the song In A Gadda Da Vida by Iron Butterfly and you might wonder if you’ve stumbled upon a blog that reads like a drug induced psychedelic trip.  No? Okay, well, that’s just the way my mind works. Call me a weirdo.

My apologies to Eva if that’s offensive.  Once I started to read her blog it was obvious that no drugs were used in the making of her blog. 🙂 Her posts are obviously written by someone with a clear mind.

Anyway, that’s a roundabout way to introduce the song of the week, but that’s how the idea came about. I wouldn’t say I’m a huge fan of this song, but it brings back wonderful memories of my brother when we were kids. He’d play a snippet of a tune on his electric guitar and I’d have to guess the song.

In A Gadda Da Vida was released in 1968 and is a whopping 17 minutes long. It’s said the title of the song was meant to be “In the Garden of Eden” but the lead band members were so drunk and/or drugged out of their minds that they slurred the words into In-a-gadda-da-vida and then forgot the original title.  Wow. We are talking about the psychedelic sixties, folks.

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Musical Monday: In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida by Iron Butterfly”

    1. I’m thinking it must be. Years ago my husband and I were working out, taking turns jumping rope to the next song on the radio. He got the song “I’m Your Captain” by Grand Funk Railroad. It’s about 5 minutes long and by the end he was exhausted. The lyrics kept repeating, “I’m getting closer to my home,” and he yelled, “Damnit! Just get there already!” Good thing he didn’t get this song. 🙂

  1. Now I confess my age because I remember listening to the entire record. I was a senior in high school and can relate that some of what we listened to then was born out of a culture of “hazy interpretations and expressions” that reflected a dynamic time on our society. Woodstock, Haight Ashbury, and the like reflected a distorted view we had on our relationship with God. Fear is a terrible drug that distorts the soul… Vietnam, Cold War, Nuclear War threat, Space Race, Race riots also led to one of the most recent great religious movements this country has experienced in the late 60’s and early 70’s. Our songs reflected that reality too. Thanks for the flash back.

  2. LOL I loved that song but never knew the story behind it. That is too funny – forgetting the name!! Sadly their brains are probably pickled or fried if they’re still alive! I was so naive at that age, I assumed all those rockers had their sh*t together and I must not be hip enough to “get it.”

  3. OK, I must now confess that my first knowledge of this song was the polka version of it done by “Weird Al” Yankovic in his song Polka on 45. 🙂 Thanks for posting the original!

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

