K is for…

K is for….uh. What in the hell am I going to write about for K?

I’ve got it.

KK is for Kindle

I own the basic Kindle and while it does have limitations, it has served its purpose. I spend a lot of time carting my kids to and from school, practices, and sporting events, which equates to a lot of down time in the carpool line, at the practice field, and between games. What better way to spend that time than reading on my Kindle.

Here are a few things I like/dislike about my Kindle:

Likes:
• It’s portable. It’s small and lightweight. It fits in my purse.
• Long battery life. It stays charged for 30 days.
• No-glare display. I can read it in the sunlight.
• Wi-Fi connection. I can buy books directly from my Kindle.
• Adequate storage. I have over 200 books on my Kindle. It’s a little library in the palm of my hand, literally.
• I never lose my place. When I read print books on a night when I’m particularly tired, which is most nights, I may drift off to sleep, drop the book and lose my place. I hate when that happens.

Dislikes:
• No backlight. The Kindle I own doesn’t have a light (although later models do).
• No touchscreen. The keyboard is cumbersome to navigate because you must click through the alphabet and highlight the letters one by one.

The absence of a backlight doesn’t affect me much, though. I simply open the Kindle app on my iPad and read from that at night. If I don’t have my Kindle or iPad with me for some reason, I can pull up the Kindle app on my iPhone and read from it too. Each device keeps track of where I left off, so I just sync to the furthest page read from any device.

Even though I like my Kindle, I still enjoy print books.

• I love the way they look. They add interest to any room. There’s nothing like a library full of books is there?
• I love the way the paper feels as my fingertips brush the pages.
• I love the sound the pages make as I shuffle through them wanting to re-read that one sentence that really touched me.
• I love the way they smell…especially an old book. It’s like a fine wine that’s been aged to perfection.
• I love the way they taste…okay, not really, but I felt like I should cover all the senses.

That being said, I’ve come to prefer reading on my Kindle versus reading a print book, unless it’s not formatted with page numbers or at least a table of contents. Oh sure, it will tell you that you’re on location 1696 of 6028, but what the hell does that mean? Yes, the display also shows you are 27% complete, but 27% of how many pages?

Call me old school, but I like to know the total number of pages in a book and the page number I am on. I appreciate it when I download a new book that has chapters and pages! I could kiss the person who formatted the book.

What do you prefer? Are you old school? Techie? A bit of both? Do you own an e-book reader? If so, what kind? Do you like it? Why or why not?

Here is a comparison of the Kindle products available.

Click the A to Z sign up list to see what the other participants are blogging about.

24 thoughts on “K is for…”

  1. I have totally converted to ebooks. I have a Nook (the original), a Kindle (just a plain Jane model like you), and an iPad. I’m good to go no matter where a buy my books. And I agree with you on every single point for electronic reading. I still love to go to libraries and bookstores and touch and smell the books – but actually holding or carrying around a hard copy book just doesn’t make sense for me anymore.

    1. I haven’t totally converted. Most of the classics I own are print. I purchased most of them before I got my Kindle, but you can download a lot of them for free on Amazon. Most of my writing books are print books, because I like to mark them up pretty good. You can also use the highlighter in Kindle for this, but I prefer to do it with a print copy. As for the rest, I usually go digital. All the indie books I own, with the exception of one, are digital and most of the recent best sellers I’ve purchased are digital.

  2. Hey, I did Kindle, too, though our posts are completely different. 🙂

    I have a Paperwhite,and if you ever get the chance to upgrade, the backlight is REALLY a nice feature.

    And I’m with you. I love how print books look on the shelf, but I’m at the point where I only buy print copies of books I really love, and everything else is on the Kindle. It’s just too expensive to buy paper, and I don’t have room for all of them. The Kindle’s portability is a HUGE advantage in my mind. I have the same frustration about page numbers (though I’m getting used to the % measurement), and not being able to see exactly how much story is left (as opposed to back matter, previews, etc.).

    I’m torn on old books, though. They’re nice if they’re well-preserved, but so many of them smell like dust and mold. I have one shelf of antique books that I adore. They’re so pretty. 🙂

    1. I might have to look into the Paperwhite, the lighting on the iPad is a little harsh. I guess I should’ve qualified my statement about old books. Moldy and dusty aren’t scents that appeal to me 🙂

  3. I have a Kindle Touch, I know what you mean about the annoying location numbers. I always enjoy getting to the 50% of the book read, it’s like climbing a hill and knowing it’s now down hill all the way to the end, I feel like I can free wheel!

  4. Kindle for convenience, but I can’t seem to get away from the actual book. Love the feel and the smell. Walking into a bookstore or library (most, anyway) is like walking through the section at Home Depot that holds the cedar lumber. There’s no greater smell! 🙂

    1. Yes, if I love a digital book enough, I will buy the print copy, too. I suppose the idea that the digital copy could accidentally go *poof* one day is a little unsettling to me. 🙂

  5. I love my Kindle – also a pretty basic one with no back light and no touch pad .. but what could be better for travelling? Just recently read Donna Tarrt’s ‘The Goldfinch’ and Wally Lamb’s ‘We are Water’ on them. Also conservation of paper. But I LOVE books. I LOVE the printed word … and making notes on the page of the book. And I love the local library …
    Great post for K Melissa thanks!
    Garden of Eden Blog

  6. I’ve got a Kindle – uh, I don’t know what model. It has a little physical keyboard attached at the bottom. I’m TOTALLY with you on the needing to know the number of pages of a book. I often check out the details of the physical equivalent of any kindle book I buy just so I can know.

    I much prefer physical books (the feel, the look, the smell of them! Is it weird that I like how books smell?) – but Kindles are just too handy to ignore…..Especially when travelling!

    1. I keep track of total pages in Goodreads and sometimes sort my TBR by it to either knock out a big one or several smaller ones. Does # of pages affect your buying decision? Do you consider long books not worth the time or short books not worth the money?

      1. Oh no, I buy all sizes – I read the small ones and the big ones, I just like to know before I set off what size the book will be. I think it’s a nod to the fact that I still prefer physical books so percentages don’t quite have the same appeal to me as page numbers…

        Does number of pages affect how you buy books?

  7. I love my Kindle. I have had about 4 of them . Yes I am a junkie. My latest is Kindle Fire HD and I love it. I read a lot on Kindle, but I use it for other stuff too. Pinterest. I watch Sherlock on Amazon Prime. It has fed my Hiddleston addiction. So I read more real books now so kids know I am reading and not “looking at Loki”. Hubby too – haha.

    Have a great weekend. I am still working on my K post.

  8. As a writer who made the decision to publish Greening of a Heart as an e-book, these comments prove why it is a good decision. We all love holding our favorite books, but when I read The Goldfinch on my Kindle, I’m glad I didn’t know it was around 791 pages. (I’ve read it twice) Perhaps the truth of it all is …..what would we do if we couldn’t read?

  9. I love the feel of a new book, all bright and shiny and I try very hard not to crease the spine, at least for a while. I have a kindle and like it, prefer the kindle ipad app and if I’m absolutely desperate, I’ll resort to the app on my iphone.

  10. Being in Canada, I have a Kobo, which is basically the same thing, except I can only get Kobo books on it – not Kindle books. My Kobo is much like your Kindle: small, no backlight, etc etc. If I’m in a situation where I want to read it and it’s too dark, or if I want to read a Kindle book, I do so from the apps on my smartphone. I always have one Kindle book, one Kobo, and one actual real life book on the go at a time. The real book is reserved for bedtime 🙂

    1. I’m the same way. In the past I only read one book at a time. Now, I read several concurrently: one or two print books (usually a classic or writing book) and one or two e-books (indie and best seller) at night (iPad) or on the go (Kindle or iPhone).

  11. I haven’t made the plunge yet to an e-reader. I know I’ll have to, soon, because my own books will have e-versions that I’ll need to see to know how they look. And though I know an e-reader will likely be more convenient, I’ll take a library full of print books over it, anytime.

    1. I didn’t think I’d like an e-reader. My husband bought the Kindle for me and it sat unused for several months. When I finally tried it, I was surprised that I enjoyed reading on it. I still like print books too, though.

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

