Say You, Say Me. Say It Much Better…Grammarly

GG is for Grammarly

“Say You, Say Me”

by Lionel Richie

[Chorus:]
Say you, say me
Say it right always, that’s the way it should be
Say you, say me
Say it much better, Grammarly
I had a story I had an awesome story
But there were issues with the text. I didn’t know what should come next
Is it a hyphen or ‘em dash? I knew it couldn’t be a slash
And from behind walls of doubt a writer’s voice was crying out
[Chorus]
As we go down this writer’s highway
Seems the hardest thing to do is to find a word or two
A helping hand – someone who understands
That when you feel you’ve lost your way
You’ve got Grammarly there to say I’ll show you
[Chorus]
So you think you know the answers – oh no
’cause the whole world has got you writing
That’s right – I’m telling you
It’s time to start believing – oh yes
Believing who you are – you are a writing star

 

Okay, I had a little fun changing the lyrics to Lionel Richie’s song to make this post more interesting. After all, we’re talking about grammar.

Have you discovered Grammarly, yet?

It’s another cool tool for writers. Paste the text of your manuscript into the application and receive an instant score on the grammar, issues discovered with the text and suggestions for correcting it.

The first time I used it I wanted to throw in the towel as a writer. What? A 65? I suck at this.  I looked at the feedback and noticed it was flagging things it shouldn’t, like contractions. Then I realized I had the review setting set to “Academic” rather than “Creative.” After a quick switch to creative, I was feeling better.

If you haven’t heard of Grammarly, you should give it a try. It will help you catch those pesky little grammatical errors like missing commas.

Since you’ve stuck with me this far, I’ll treat you to a little song by Lionel Richie. I probably won’t be able to listen to this again without inserting the lyrics above.

21 thoughts on “Say You, Say Me. Say It Much Better…Grammarly”

  1. I tried Grammarly ONCE. Any program that accuses me of plagiarizing my own writing and insists that the word “familiar” is too big (because it has more than 2 syllables) is not a program I want telling me how to write.

  2. Haha, I have changed song lyrics to be about writing before too! I am so very happy to find that I am not the only one who gets a kick out of doing stuff like that. Yay for silliness! 🙂

  3. Never did see the film but liked the song. Nice lyrics change ha. I remember switching Wham’s Last Christmas from ‘save me from tears’ to ‘semi-frontiers’

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

