Who Says You’re Too Old to Pursue Your Dreams?

When it comes to pursuing our dreams, many of us are plagued with doubts. What if I’m not good enough? What if they don’t like me? Do I really have what it takes to succeed? As someone who has discovered her passion later in life (I’m in my 40’s), I have another question pop in my head occasionally.

Am I too old to even try?

I know from the time I’ve spent reading other blogs and conversing with fellow bloggers that I’m not the only one who has this fear. Has opportunity passed us by? Well, I got tired of hearing that worn out excuse replay in my head and did some research to finally put it to rest. It turns out many of history’s greatest achievements were made by those who were middle-aged or older. Here are a few examples:

What about writers? Plenty of notable works were written by authors later in life, such as:

See? There is no expiration date on the mind’s ability to innovate. This NY Times article argues that innovators get better with age, noting that “two of the biggest-selling authors of fiction for 2012 — Suzanne Collins and E. L. James — are around 50.” When it comes to pursuing your dreams, there is no rule that says you must be young to be successful, only young at heart.

This is my first post for the Insecure Writers Support Group. I hope you enjoyed it.

What is the Insecure Writers Support Group?

IWSG badgePurpose: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

Posting: The first Wednesday of every month is officially Insecure Writer’s Support Group day. Post your thoughts on your own blog. Talk about your doubts and the fears you have conquered. Discuss your struggles and triumphs. Offer a word of encouragement for others who are struggling. Visit others in the group and connect with your fellow writer – aim for a dozen new people each time.

Are you an insecure writer? Would you like to join the group? Click here for the sign up page.

26 thoughts on “Who Says You’re Too Old to Pursue Your Dreams?”

    1. What? You’re not 72! I seriously thought you were in your 50’s. Seems you’ve got the “young at heart” thing down, which is why you’re now a published author 🙂

  1. Great post! I didn’t start writing until I was almost 40. I’ve often wondered if I started too late, or if I should focus on more practical things besides writing. But, it’s never too late to follow your dreams. Thanks for reminding me of that.

  2. Thanks for the encouragement! I just left my 40’s, and I feel like, for me, it’s now or never, so I’m seizing the opportunity to make my dream happen. I hope you do, too! Carpe diem!

  3. I’m so glad you shared these authors and their ages with us, Melissa. I know I stopped worrying about my age when I finally published. LOL. Back then I thought I was the oldest author ever. I actually feel younger now. Kudos to us primed age writers.

  4. Yeah, sometimes I wish I would have started writing when I was younger. Seems like so many writers started writing in their twenties (or before). Still, there’s plenty of time left to learn and write, so I’m not too worried about it. Glad you’re in the IWSG.

    1. Yeah, I hate those little whippersnappers (just kidding). I sometimes wish that too, but I wouldn’t have had the life experiences to draw from that I do now. I’m amazed when someone so young can write with such depth, must be an old soul. Glad to be in the IWSG!

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

