From the Archives: How I Discovered My Passion for Writing

Today marks the one year anniversary of the first post on my blog. To celebrate, I’m publishing select posts throughout the year under the title “From the Archives” for those who may have missed them the first time around. Here is my first post as a blogger:

Hey Cyber Peeps!

Hello? Anybody out there?

{Audible echo}

Yep, this is my first post, and I’m pretty sure it will be sucked into a void in the cyber universe where no one will ever see it. But just in case, I wanted to share how I discovered my passion for writing.

My husband was always questioning why I married him, and why I loved him. I’d tell him often enough (or so I thought), and would sign sappy cards for Valentines, our anniversary, and his birthday, but it didn’t allay his doubts. Maybe it was the delivery: “I love you damn it! Now stop asking me!”

In January 2009, I was struck with an idea. Instead of giving him a card for Valentine’s Day with another person’s words in it, I would write a story for him; the story of how we met. I asked my sister to read it so she could rate the cheese factor. She has never been reluctant to tell me what she really thinks. In fact, she can be downright blunt at times. Once I got her reaction, I’d decide whether to edit it or just scrap it altogether. To my surprise, she loved it.

“Oh my God! It’s like I’m there!” she said.

“Uh, that’s because you were, doofus.”

“Yes, but I can see, smell, and feel everything that you were feeling that night.”

Wow. Really? Maybe he would finally understand the depth of my feelings for him since I never could do it justice verbally. I guess it worked because he has never asked those questions again. In fact, when we argue, he’ll say, “I’m not feeling the love right now. I’m going to go read our story to remind myself that you love me.”  LOL. Adorable isn’t he?

When I sat down to write the story I had no idea how deeply it would affect me. I was transported to another place where hours ticked by like minutes. I found it puzzling how a collection of sentences or even a solitary phrase that I wrote could evoke such emotion. I’m sure it had a lot to do with the subject, but my love affair with writing began that day.

In that same month, I was watching one of those investigative reporting shows like Dateline or 20/20 while I was cooking dinner. It was a story about two little girls living with neglectful, drug addicted parents, and it ended pretty tragically. I didn’t realize my son (who was 8 at the time) had walked in until I heard him crying. I know, Mom of the Year, right?  I quickly turned off the TV and tried to console him, but the story stayed with me. In fact, it haunted me as if it desperately needed a different ending. So I started to imagine a world where those two innocent little girls could find love and happiness.

That’s when it dawned on me. This is what I do! I was always creating stories, turning them over and over in my mind until the setting, characters, conflict, and resolution felt right. But I never dreamed of writing them down. Me? A writer? Don’t kid yourself, sweetheart.

I finally pushed those negative thoughts aside and sat down to write another story. It felt UH-MAY-ZING! I had opened the floodgates. The thoughts came pouring out and saturated the screen as I typed. I had finally discovered something that I was passionate about, and it had been there, inside me, all along.

A person without a purpose is like a bird without a song (I’m sure I’ve read that somewhere), and people, my soul was singing!

For all you writers out there, how did you discover your passion for writing?

10 thoughts on “From the Archives: How I Discovered My Passion for Writing”

  1. Happy blogaversary! The one year point means you can stick at it and continue to grow as a writer. It’s great to hear how people began writing, and why. So many people say they want to, but so few pursue it.
    I’ve been writing since I was a junior school and always, always wanted to create stories. Finally, I decided that I would actually finish one of them and I did, self-publishing in October ’12.
    Here’s to next year. Write On!

    1. Thanks Andrew. Congrats on publishing a book! I think many people say they’d like to write a book, not knowing what’s really involved. When they finally discover what it takes, they give up. Writing a book is hard. Publishing one is even harder. I’ve completed one book, but I don’t think it’s good enough to be published, so it sits on my computer waiting for me to fix it. If anything it was a valuable learning process and I know that I have it in me to write one.

      1. I have a couple of those too – one sci- fi story languishing at 43k words and a high fantasy at 234k (yeah, I know. Big). Sci Fi now has an ending (in my mind), but I’d like to revisit the High Fantasy and complete it, splitting it into a continuous trilogy. It wasn’t ‘novel-shaped’ when I sidelined it, but with what I’ve learned from my debut novel, I will revisit it, wiser (and older) enough to package it up properly.
        As you said, no writing is wasted – it’s all experience. You may wish to revisit the ‘fixer-upper’ at a later date and apply your experience in the same way I plan to.

    1. Thanks Lily. I’m still in the mines with the editing process of my novel, but I believe I’ve found a few gems 😉 I’m taking my time, hoping to get it right this time. How about you?

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

