Musical Monday: Happy by Pharrell “The Hat” Williams

My eight-year-old daughter loves this song. The other night she got scared and crawled into our bed. I guess she felt safe because she quickly fell asleep. I awoke hours later at 4 am to the lyrics of Happy and it wasn’t from the alarm. My daughter (who often talks in her sleep) was sleep-singing and it had to be one of the best ways to wake up. It instantly made me…happy.

For those who don’t know, the song is from the movie Despicable Me 2. It was nominated for an Oscar, but what I want to talk about is the person responsible for this infectious tune: Pharrell Williams, better known as the man with “the hat.” What can I say about Pharrell? He’s a singer-songwriter, record producer, rapper and fashion designer. Have you heard of him? Better yet, have you seen him? Most likely it was an image like this:

56th GRAMMY Awards - Red Carpet

No, just no. What is up with “the hat,” Pharrell?

It seems “the hat” has almost become more famous than him. He’s a good-looking guy and he actually does look good in a hat. Here’s proof:

pharrell fedoraThe Fedora

PharrellWilliams beanieThe Beanie

pharrell-williams-highsnobiety-print-1The Furry Hat

pharrell baseball capThe Baseball Cap

pharrell flower baseball capThe “Floral” Baseball Cap

(yes, I’ll even take one with flowers on it over “the hat”)

So what’s the deal? Is he hiding something underneath all those hats? Does he have an oddly shaped head? No, not at all. Here he is “sans” hat:

pharrell-williams-paper-magazine-3The No Hat Scarf

pharrellwilliams1-2 bball cap scarfHe even looks good in a baseball cap and scarf.

See? He looks good in a hat. Just not that one!

Pharrell the hatYes, this guy is a fashion designer. He is a style icon and when you see images like the ones below you can understand why.

Pharrell tuxpharrell vestpharrell suitSo, what the hell, Pharrell? Why must you wear that hat? No matter what angle you look at it, it does not look good! It evokes images such as this one seen all over the media:

pharrell smokyChanging the color doesn’t help either, bud.

pharrell grey hatI still see this:

pharrell-williams-arbys-smokey-the-bear-2-400x242Can we just lose the hat? Better yet, let’s burn it. That’s one fire Smokey the Bear should not put out.

“Happy”

[Verse 1:]
It might seem crazy what I’m about to say
Sunshine she’s here, you can take a break
I’m a hot air balloon that could go to space
With the air, like I don’t care baby by the way[Hook:]
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you know what happiness is to you
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do[Verse 2:]
Here come bad news talking this and that, yeah,
Well, give me all you got, and don’t hold back, yeah,
Well, I should probably warn you I’ll be just fine, yeah,
No offense to you, don’t waste your time
Here’s why[Hook]

Hey, come on

[Bridge:]
(happy)
Bring me down
Can’t nothing bring me down
My level’s too high
Bring me down
Can’t nothing bring me down
I said (let me tell you now)
Bring me down
Can’t nothing bring me down
My level’s too high
Bring me down
Can’t nothing bring me down
I said

[Hook 2x]

Hey, come on

(happy)
Bring me down… can’t nothing…
Bring me down… my level’s too high…
Bring me down… can’t nothing…
Bring me down, I said (let me tell you now)

[Hook 2x]

Come on

4 thoughts on “Musical Monday: Happy by Pharrell “The Hat” Williams”

  1. That’s an awesome song! I apparently need to get out more or watch more kids movies to keep up on the latest feel good songs.

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

