Tackling That TBR Pile: 2014 Reading Challenges

Notice the “s” in the title of this post? Yep, that’s intentional. Last year I set a goal to read 50 books and tracked my progress on Goodreads. Unfortunately, I fell a little short of that mark, so this year I will be participating in more than one challenge. I thought it would help keep me on task.

I talked about my reading goals in the post The Resolution Tree. Of the 50 books I plan to read, I’ve set a goal for 10 of them to come from the Modern Library’s Top 100 list. Reading (and in some cases re-reading) all 100 books on this list is a goal I set in 2011.  So,  The Classics Reading Challenge hosted by Thoughts at One in the Morning was a natural fit.

classics2014

I’ve always enjoyed learning about different places through the books I read (and even more so in those I write). As Dr. Seuss said:

“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.”

I thought it would be fun to track the places I’ve gone in my books in 2014. The Book Journey hosts Where Are You Reading Challenge 2014 where participants mark the places they’ve visited in the books they’ve read. You can do it with a simple list or by creating a map with Google maps. So far this year I’ve visited England (3x), Chicago (3x), Salem, MA, and some place called Reverie (if someone knows where it’s located, please chime in).

Won’t you join in? Oh the places we will go!

Where Are You Reading

Since I’ve already completed one series this year (Divergent trilogy) and there are several more on my TBR, I thought I’d participate in the 2014 Series Challenge hosted by Read.Sleep.Repeat. My goal is to earn the silver badge by completing 4-6 book series during the year. That might be a little ambitious, but we’ll see how it goes.

series-challenge-button-take2

{Sigh} So many books…so little time. My TBR list on Goodreads has over 300 books on it and growing. Since I’m participating in these other challenges, I thought I’d do the 2014 TBR Pile Reading Challenge by Bookish too. There are several levels you can choose from depending on the number of books you plan to read during the year. I will be doing the 50+ books (Married with Children) level. It seems appropriate 🙂

2014 TBR Pile Reading Challenge“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.” ~ George R.R. Martin

11 thoughts on “Tackling That TBR Pile: 2014 Reading Challenges”

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

