Musical Monday: February Seven by The Avett Brothers

I love this song by The Avett Brothers. I’m especially fond of the lyrics. I’ve read that  the writer, Scott Avett, was vague about the meaning and would only say it referred to a lesson he learned on February 7th. As a result, there has been much speculation about the meaning of the song and many believe it refers to addiction or infidelity.

That may be so, but for me, the lyrics refer to something much broader in scope: the search for meaning in life (I went on the search for something true), and how we can be blinded to it by chasing the things we think we desire, but only end up harming us (a perfect blade it slit my throat). These things will not bring us happiness. Chasing them is pointless (there’s no fortune at the end of the road that has no end). Once we’ve uncovered that illusion (there’s no falling back to sleep once you’ve awakened from the dream) we realize that throughout our struggles there has been a constant in our lives (but I awoke and you were standing there) waiting patiently as we discover why we are here. That’s when life really begins.

February Seven

by The Avett Brothers

I went on the search for something true.
I was almost there when I found you.
Sooner then my fate was wrote
A perfect blade it slit my throat
And beads of lust released into the air.
When I awoke you were standing there.

I was on the mend when I fell through.
The sky around was anything but blue.
I found as I regained my feet
A wound across my memory
That no amount of stitches would repair.
But I awoke and you were standing there.

There’s no fortune at the end of the road that has no end.
There’s no returning to the spoils
Once you’ve spoiled the thought of them.
There’s no falling back asleep
Once you’ve wakened from the dream
Now I’m rested and I’m ready,
I’m rested and I’m ready to begin.
I’m ready to begin.

I went on the search for something real.
Traded what I know for how I feel.
But the ceiling and the walls collapsed
Upon the darkness I was trapped
And as the last of breath was drawn from me
The light broke in and brought me to my feet.

There’s no fortune at the end of the road that has no end.
There’s no returning to the spoils
Once you’ve spoiled the thought of them.
There’s no falling back asleep
Once you’ve wakened from the dream.
Now I’m rested and I’m ready
I’m rested and I’m ready
Yeah I’m rested and I’m ready
I’m rested and I’m ready
Yeah I’m rested and I’m ready
I’m rested and I’m ready
To begin
I’m ready to begin

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

