The Lighthouse Shall Lead Me Home.

I was feeding the muse with poetry, trying to find the inspiration to move from 40k to 50k for NaNoWriMo, when I stumbled upon this poem. The imagery and emotion conveyed in this piece is breathtaking.

Poems & People

As the fading progeny of a burning god,
lights the heavens for today’s last breath,
I feel the warmth but for a moment’s nod
and behold the glory of that orb in death.
Although my path is lit with borrowed
and not as brilliant lights fluorescent,
yet fearful leads my bleakest road,
and I it’s traveler from eons spent.
Memories of all my past’s sunshine
and now its successor, these city lights,
shimmer on waves of sweet summer wine
an ocean drunk on this carnival of sights.
Will I see the end someday?
will I have one final chance?
to feel the scent of an ocean gray
and dance to heaven’s serene seance?
I ponder if I had every dream
and wish that I had ever made,
would I have known the sullen gleam
would I now tread the golden shade
of sand where my feet feel the shore,
my…

View original post 162 more words

One thought on “The Lighthouse Shall Lead Me Home.”

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

