Conversations with My Kids: Get Down on Your Knees

For this post of Conversations with My Kids I’m reminded of how impressionable our children are. This is a conversation between my sweet mother-in-law (MIL) and my daughter in December 2009. She was four years old at the time. Here is how the conversation went:

CJ: Merry Christmas, Meemaw.

MIL: Merry Christmas to you [CJ].

CJ: That’s not good enough.

I was halfway listening to this conversation, but this really got my attention. I turn to watch my daughter.

MIL: Well, Merry, Merry Christmas, [CJ].

CJ: You’ve got to do better than that.

What did she just say? Surely I must have misunderstood her.

MIL: Well, what do you want me to do?

CJ: Get down on your knees and tell me you love me.

At this point, I’m slightly horrified. Who is this little diva who is demanding genuflection as if she were a queen? I’m also fighting the urge to laugh.

MIL: [laughing] If I get down on my knees, I might not be able to get back up. (But Meemaw is a good sport, and gets down on her knees). I love you, [CJ]!

CJ: [smiles] That’s good, Meemaw.

It was only later that I learned where she heard this. Check out the following clip of Home Alone2 at about 1:07.

4 thoughts on “Conversations with My Kids: Get Down on Your Knees”

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

