Musical Monday: Hell’s Bells by AC/DC

I know I’m not the only one who loves the bells at the beginning of Hell’s Bells by AC/DC. I love the sense of foreboding, the signal that this is a moment you will always remember.

Bells are most often used to mark the time, and church bells mark the occurence of a significant event in the church. It reminds me of a moment my husband shared with the officiant just before our wedding. When the bells began to ring in the bell tower, the pastor turned to my husband and said, “The next time those bells will ring for you will be at your funeral.”

I thought it was a strange thing to say before a happy event but I suppose the pastor said it to calm my husband’s nerves. Apparently it did because my husband thought it was funny and loves to retell that story.

4 thoughts on “Musical Monday: Hell’s Bells by AC/DC”

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

