Something Wicked This Way Comes

something wicked this way comesI woke up this morning in a fog… literally. It seems a portentous fog rolled in with the month of October, enveloping my neighborhood in its eerie haze.

Why does the fog give one such a sense of foreboding? It’s the same thing with the night. That which we can’t see fills us with fear of the unknown. The fog, like the night, seems to carry something with it, something sinister hidden within its gossamer layers.

I stood on the back porch, drinking my chai tea, and the words “something wicked this way comes” entered my mind.  After a moment, I thought, “That’s the next book I’ll read.”

I headed to the local bookstore to buy a copy. I found it, along with a few others (seriously, how often do you leave a bookstore with just one book?), and headed for the exit. As I opened the front door of the store, a black cat crossed my path. I’m not kidding. It walked right in front of me. I could have stepped on it if I hadn’t halted mid step.  Shouldn’t feral cats be timid? This one seemed pretty bold. It looked at me for a moment as if to say, “You getting the message?” and then bolted underneath a car.

the-birdsHumph, that’s odd. I shrugged and headed toward my car. As I pulled the car keys from my purse, two black crows swooped down near me. I glanced up, half expecting an attack like a scene from The Birds. Thankfully there were no other crows in the area to give credence to my imaginings. I looked down at the title of the book in my hand and smirked. No one is going to believe this. Evidence, I need photographic evidence.

The birds had flown away, but the cat was hiding underneath a nearby car. I backed out of the space and parked across the parking lot. I’d wait for it to emerge or maybe I’d honk to frighten it from its hiding place. Then I spied something in my peripheral vision: a shadow lurking among the cars farther down the road. I drove in that direction, and yes, there was the cat. It was looking at me from the underbelly of a truck. Its eyes were glowing emeralds. I snapped a picture. And then, I noticed the hitch cover of the truck it was hiding underneath. At first glance, I thought it said EVIL LIVES, and started to get a little spooked. Upon closer inspection, I noticed it said EVIL LYN. But seriously, I’m not making this stuff up. Here are the pictures I was able to get with my phone.

black cat2 black cat1

Now, here is an excerpt from Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury:

“How do you hear it, how are you warned? The ear, does it hear? No. But the hairs on the back of your neck, and the peach-fuzz in your ears, they do, and the hair along your arms sings like grasshopper legs fractioned and trembling with strange music.”

This was the first page I turned to. Does anyone else have goosebumps?

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
7 thoughts on “Something Wicked This Way Comes”

  1. I cannot tell you how much I love this post. I LOVE fog, just acquired a black kitten, save crow’s feathers I find, and love to read (and of course, write) dark fiction. Your day would have been my perfect inspiration, so I’m really glad you shared!

  2. It’s been a strange day for sure. There was a bumble bee hovering around me at my son’s football game tonight, and it wasn’t just a fleeting thing. It hung around for the last 2 minutes on the game clock and would hover in front of my face most of the time. It’s common to see bees around ball parks, but not bumble bees. Maybe the universe is trying to tell me something, lol.

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

