Teaser Tuesday: Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

NeverwhereThis week’s teaser comes from the book Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman. The book was published in 1996 and I’m ashamed to admit I never read it until now. If you’ve followed this blog, you’ll know that for years I spent most of my time working and rarely allowed myself to read anything other than “business” books. I was such a masochist back then. As a result, I’ve had a lot of catching up to do and hadn’t gotten to this one yet.

“Until that moment, she had never thought she could do it. Never thought she would be brave enough, or scared enough, or desperate enough to dare. But she reached up one hand to his chest, and she opened….”

realswellblog.com
realswellblog.com

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
7 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman”

  1. Having just popped my Gaiman cherry with ‘The Ocean at the End of the Lane’, for which a review should appear later, it was good to see this post. I will have to add this to my list.

    One of my current reads is ‘The Kill’ by Emile Zola:

    “Sacard, who scented a good piece of business, put into his head a match between his daughter Louise and Maxime. Monsieur de Mareuil became most effusive, imagined he was the first to have thought of this marriage, and considered himself very fortunate to enter into a minister’s family and to give Louse to a young man who seemed to have such fine prospects.”

    1. What a lewd comment! LOL. I’ll be interested to see what you think of The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I’ve read it too and will be doing a review of it at some point. Thanks for the teaser on The Kill. Haven’t heard of it but it looks interesting.

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

