Teaser Tuesday: Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Cover of "Brave New World"
Cover of Brave New World

This week’s teaser comes from the dystopian novel, Brave New World, written by Aldous Huxley in 1931. I read it many years ago, but because it’s #5 on the Modern Library‘s Top 100 list, I wanted to read it again and see what new insight I might gain from it.

“But I don’t want comfort. I want God, I want poetry, I want real danger, I want freedom, I want goodness. I want sin.”  ~Aldous Huxley, Brave New World

realswellblog.com
realswellblog.com

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
5 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday: Brave New World by Aldous Huxley”

    1. While I do reread books, it’s not often that I reread every single word as I do/will do with the Modern Library top 100. But it is interesting how your perspective changes. You notice things you didn’t before. Scenes affect you differently based on new experiences you’ve had. I’m on my third read of the HP books (now reading them with my daughter), and now that I have all these writing rules in my head, I can’t help but notice the “rules” JKR broke.

  1. Hi Melissa. One of my college books for English A level, it was a look into the future really. Bokanovskification (cloning) and the different classes of human, I remember everyone saying “it will be like that one day” and not too many years later the first test tube baby was born! A thought provoking book of its time!
    James 😉

    1. Hello James! Yes, the book is thought provoking, even prophetic as you’ve stated. Although the test tube baby brought hope to parents who couldn’t conceive without artificial intervention, I hope I don’t live to see a world where a BOKANOVSKY type process comes to fruition, where humans are treated like a commodity and mass produced in an assembly line of sorts, preselected at conception for a lower class, then subject to a substandard environment at the embryonic stage to reduce intelligence, and conditioned via Pavlovian methods after “birth” to be suited and satisfied with their position in life. The family structure no longer exists. “Parent” is a foreign concept along with all the emotional ties of that familial bond. By controlling the natural development of humans, we lose everything that makes each of us unique and suppress the potential for great ideas and innovation. How sad. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

