Musical Monday: Have You Ever Seen the Rain by Creedence Clearwater Revival

The other day, my daughter ran up to me and said, “Momma, it’s raining, but the sun is out! Isn’t that cool?”

We stepped outside on the back porch to watch the rain falling, glistening in the sunshine, and I was reminded of this song by Creedence Clearwater Revival.

There are many myths about the meaning of it. It was released in 1971 during the Viet Nam war, so many believe it’s about the use of Agent Orange or jungle warfare. Others believe it’s about drugs, but according to the writer, John Fogerty, it’s about the breakup of the band.  The song is a classic because it is still relevant today. The lyrics are timeless. The meaning is universal.

The cycles of nature in the song are symbolic of the cycles in our own lives.  There will be ups and downs, but if you can weather the storm in your own life, you will come out stronger. Rain, like the hardships we face, is necessary for growth, for survival.  The lyrics are bittersweet. It implies that pain is inevitable, but if you can persevere, the grey clouds will disappear, and the sun will shine down through the rain.

Have you ever seen the rain coming down on a sunny day?

Have You Ever Seen the Rain?

Someone told me long ago
There’s a calm before the storm,
I know
It’s been comin’ for some time.

When it’s over, so they say,
It’ll rain a sunny day,
I know
Shinin’ down like water.

[Chorus]
I want to know, have you ever seen the rain
I want to know, have you ever seen the rain
Comin’ down on a sunny day?

Yesterday, and days before,
Sun is cold and rain is hard,
I know
Been that way for all my time.

‘Til forever, on it goes
Through the circle, fast and slow,
I know
It can’t stop, I wonder.

Chorus

Yeah!

Chorus

3 thoughts on “Musical Monday: Have You Ever Seen the Rain by Creedence Clearwater Revival”

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

