Teaser Tuesday: Utopia by Thomas More

UtopiaMy reading has slowed down quite a bit recently. I blame it on the convenience of Netflix and the fact that I’ve missed out on some spectacular shows. I know, I know.  It’s true that I don’t watch much TV because there seems to be a plethora of crap out there.

That being said, it doesn’t mean there is a complete lack of quality entertainment on TV. Since starting my last book, I watched the entire series of The Tudors, which is fantastic, by the way. I’m actually itching to watch it again. Plus, the show reawakened a desire to read Utopia by Thomas More. I’ve also discovered Breaking Bad and have been watching at least two episodes per night with my husband. Yeah, we’re hooked and sometimes pay for it the next morning when the alarm goes off at 6 am.

So, it took me a while to complete 1984 by George Orwell because I didn’t have the time, but what an incredible book. It seems I must’ve been required to read it at some point in my youth, but I don’t recall. I can only guess that it was banned at the time because I don’t think I could forget this book.

Reading 1984 also reinforced my desire to read Utopia, so this week’s teaser is from that book written by Thomas More in 1516.

A devout Catholic, More opposed the Protestant Reformation and persecuted followers of Martin Luther . He refused to accept King Henry VIII as the supreme head of the church or the annulment of the king’s marriage to Catherine of Aragon. As a result, he was convicted of treason and beheaded.

“Why do you suppose they made you king in the first place?’ I ask him. ‘Not for your benefit, but for theirs. They meant you to devote your energies to making their lives more comfortable, and protecting them from injustice. So your job is to see that they’re all right, not that you are – just as a shepherd’s job, strictly speaking, is to feed his sheep, not himself.”  ~ Thomas More, Utopia

realswellblog.com
realswellblog.com

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

