Musical Monday: Home by Phillip Phillips

I don’t watch much TV, but Season 11 of American Idol was one of the rare occasions where I did. My family was surfing channels, and when Phillip Phillips came on, I was drawn into the room. I was intrigued when I saw the image of the unassuming young man.

Phillip Phillips was different. He captured our hearts immediately. He didn’t wear flashy clothes or sport a trendsetting hairstyle. In some ways, he was similar to the everyday hero in fiction. He was just an ordinary guy. We could relate to him. But unlike the everyday hero, he possessed an extraordinary talent that became clear when he began to sing. But still, he didn’t seem to seek notoriety.  He was humble and unwilling to change to fit the expected image of a superstar. For that, we admired him even more. We rooted for him. We wanted him to win, and we got our happily ever after when he did.

Home by Phillip Phillips

Hold on, to me as we go
As we roll down this unfamiliar road
And although this wave is stringing us along
Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

Settle down, it’ll all be clear
Don’t pay no mind to the demons
They fill you with fear
The trouble it might drag you down
If you get lost, you can always be found

Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

Settle down, it’ll all be clear
Don’t pay no mind to the demons
They fill you with fear
The trouble it might drag you down
If you get lost, you can always be found

Just know you’re not alone
Cause I’m going to make this place your home

2 thoughts on “Musical Monday: Home by Phillip Phillips”

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

