Blogger Quote of the Week: Lauren Sapala

The Blogger Quote of the Week comes from the post Born to Write by Lauren Sapala. She never ceases to amaze me with the quality of her posts. Her blog is a goldmine of insight and inspiration for writers and this post, in particular, was exactly the therapy I needed to treat my recent bout of melancholy.

I couldn’t quite figure out what was wrong with me. I felt “thin, sort of stretched, like butter scraped over too much bread.” It was reminiscent of the feelings I had when I was working in a career I didn’t enjoy. But I’m a writer now, I thought, what gives? Maybe it was a heart ailment? I seriously considered that, even googled the symptoms I was feeling.

But after reading Lauren’s post, it occurred to me that I was a writer who wasn’t writing. What I’ve discovered is that if I’m in editing mode I must also supplement it with time spent writing. All editing and no writing make Melissa a very sad girl. For creative types, too much time spent in the left brain is just a mental and physical drain.

So I sat down to write and as the words flowed it seemed to start my blood pumping again. I felt rejuvenated. The malady had been cured.

Thanks for the words of wisdom, Lauren. I’m happy to say that I’ve rearranged my schedule to make writing and my resulting mental health a priority.

“If you are born storyteller and you’re not telling stories, your mental health will suffer. You will struggle with a constant depression that ranges from low-key to full-blown. Instead of admiration, you will be seized with fits of envy when you read writers you love. When you think about the future and what you will have done with your life, you’ll feel desperate, scared, and cynical.

These feelings are not a true vision of the way things are. They are skewed perceptions based on your deep, inner unhappiness. And that unhappiness is stemming from the fact that you’re not writing.”

Read the full post by clicking on the link above, and while you’re there check out her other posts. I think you’ll agree with me. Lauren was born to write.

6 thoughts on “Blogger Quote of the Week: Lauren Sapala”

  1. Oh my gosh, Melissa, I have been there!!! We writers have to be writing on a regular basis. It’s tough on the mood when we’re not. I get depressed and jittery and restless when I don’t have writing to turn to at least for a bit every couple of days.

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

