Quote of the Week: J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Rings

“I wish it need not have happened in my time,” said Frodo.

“So do I,” said Gandalf, “and so do all who live to see such times. But that is not for them to decide. All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”

~    J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

In this scene, Frodo is lamenting all that has transpired: Bilbo’s discovery of the ring, his unwelcome possession of it, the threat of rising evil, and the burden he must bear  to destroy it.

Gandalph wisely points out that we do not get to choose the time we are born into or even how long we stay on this earth, but we do have control over how we spend the time we have.

To say this quote is one of my favorites would not come close to describing the profound effect it had on me. Some of you may know that I was given a second chance at life and since that day I have contemplated my own existence. Why am I here? What is my purpose? Why did I live? How do I want to spend the time that I have?

It inspires me to focus on what matters and throw everything else to the wayside. I added it to my blog’s header as a reminder to spend my time wisely.

How will you spend the time that is given to you?

8 thoughts on “Quote of the Week: J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Rings”

  1. Hmmm, sounds like you’ve had one of those moments also. When three doctors told me I was going to die, then two occasions when I could feel my blood slowing and my brain abandoning my body. A different world when a taste of mortality enters what we all never contemplate, that this will all end some day…maybe tomorrow…maybe fifty years from now. I often listen to people go on about insignificant occurances and pity them for not knowing how transitory it all is. Never seen no Hobbit movies, but I know where you’re starting from. Always a pleasure !
    Later…

    1. I see you know first-hand what I’m talking about. Having a taste of your own mortality is not only a gift of life, but a gift of a different perspective. You want to earn that gift and leave the world a bit better for it. Thanks for sharing your words of wisdom, Scott.

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

