Musical Monday: Skyscraper by Demi Lovato for Ionia

As some of you may know from reading one of my previous posts or the many others out there, our dear friend Ionia Martin is battling cancer and is undergoing treatment today. She has suffered more tragedy than most yet somehow still manages to light up the blogosphere with her wit, wisdom, and kindness.  She is both beautiful and strong, a veritable force of nature that won’t let anything tear her down. She is an inspiration to all of us.

This one is for you Ionia. We love you.

Skyscraper by Demi Lovato

Skies are crying
I am watching
Catching teardrops in my hands
Only silence, has it’s ending, like we never had a chance
Do you have to make me feel like there is nothing left of me?

[Chorus]
You can take everything I have
You can break everything I am
Like I’m made of glass
Like I’m made of paper
Go on and try to tear me down
I will be rising from the ground
Like a skyscraper!
Like a skyscraper!

As the smoke clears
I awaken, and untangle you from me
Would it make you, feel better to watch me while I bleed?
All my windows, still are broken
But I’m standing on my feet

[Chorus]
You can take everything I have
You can break everything I am
Like I’m made of glass
Like I’m made of paper
Go on and try to tear me down
I will be rising from the ground
Like a skyscraper!
Like a skyscraper!

[chorus]
Go run, run, run
I’m gonna stay right here
Watch you disappear, yeah
Go run, run, run
Yeah it’s a long way down
But I am closer to the clouds up here

You can take everything I have
You can break everything I am
Like I’m made of glass
Like I’m made of paper, Ohhh woaah
Go on and try to tear me down
I will be rising from the ground

Like a skyscraper!
Like a skyscraper!

Like a skyscraper!
Like a skyscraper!

Like a skyscraper

11 thoughts on “Musical Monday: Skyscraper by Demi Lovato for Ionia”

  1. Last post I see before walking out the door to battle destiny. 🙂 thank you, for everything you do. You put my name in a post with something tall….I owe you now more than ever. 🙂

  2. Wonderful post from a wonderful person to another wonderful person…just wonderful. I did my year of chemo and cheated three docs prognosis of death while alone in a frozen mid-western wasteland. It would have been wonderful (..must stop using that word…) to have had the support and well wishes of fine people like yourself. I join you in hoping for the best for Ionia.
    Later…

      1. Why, Wonderful ! I’m not much into the awards thing…I’d rather spend my time running around my beach or jungle fighting off butterflies and hooting at Howler monkeys. I always appreciate nominations though…it’s an indication that I’ve made some impression on a human being using something as blunt and obtuse as language to form some sort of emotional connection. The end game for all poets, as well as most other word people. Thanks.
        Later…

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

