Teaser Tuesday: Zen in the Art of Writing by Ray Bradbury

ZenITAOWI failed to post a teaser last week but it doesn’t matter because I’m still reading the same book, Zen in the Art of Writing by Ray Bradbury. This is unusual for me because I typically complete a book in a day or two.

Have I lost interest, you may ask? Absolutely not. I am relishing this book, R-E-L-I-S-H-I-N-G, re-reading sentences and paragraphs. I don’t generally mark up the books I read. I try to keep them in as pristine condition as possible. But I tossed that propensity right out the window with this book. I couldn’t get past the preface (don’t generally read that either) before I was underlining passages (ever so lightly in pencil, of course) and dog-earring pages. {Gasp!}

This book speaks to the heart of a writer. Here is an excerpt (I couldn’t stick to the TT guidance and limit it to 2 sentences):

“It is the moment when the porch swing creaks gentle and a voice speaks. All hold their breath. The voice rises and falls. Dad tells of other years. A ghost rises off his lips. The subconscious stirs and rubs its eyes. The Muse ventures in the ferns below the porch, where the summer boys, strewn on the lawn, listen. The words become poetry that no one minds, because no one has thought to call it that. Time is there. Love is there. Story is there. A well-fed man keeps and calmly gives forth his infinitesimal portion of eternity. It sounds big in the summer night. And it is, as it always was down the ages, when there was a man with something to tell, and ones quiet and wise, to listen.”

I. LOVE. THIS. If that doesn’t stir your soul as a writer, honey, I don’t know what will.

realswellblog.com
realswellblog.com

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

