Book Review: The Oldest Man in the Universe by Tuan Ho

TOMITUThe Oldest Man in the Universe By Tuan Ho

Book Description: Carlos Ricardo Miccapo is the oldest man in the universe and he’s experienced all that life has had to offer. When there is nothing left to explore and experience – is life worth living? His closest friends from across countless galaxies will find out as they gather for one last time at the edge of the universe.

A couple of weeks ago I read the short story, The Oldest Man in the Universe by fellow blogger, movie and book reviewer Tuan Ho. It’s a very quick read and by that I mean you can probably read it during the commercial breaks of your favorite show.

Tuan prefaces the book with one of my favorite quotes by Albert Einstein. I’ve quoted it on my blog before.

“Imagination is more important that knowledge. For knowledge is limited, whereas imagination embraces the entire world, stimulating progress, giving birth to evolution.”

This quote and the description of the book had me intrigued. What would the oldest man in the universe have to say? What wisdom would he share with the rest of us?

After reading about some of his experiences I wished he’d possessed the wisdom or the morality to just say no. N-O! There are some things that should not be experienced. Ever. Period! I’m not sure my mind will ever recover from some of the images the author placed there.

Regardless, it was a good read and left me with a smile on my face as I was reminded of a favorite quote by Socrates. Any story that can do that is worth four stars in my book.

Oh the quote? I cannot tell you because it will spoil the ending. You’ll just have to read it for yourself.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: The Oldest Man in the Universe by Tuan Ho”

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

