What Can Your Publisher Do For You?

Advice on publishing from an author who has done both traditional and self publishing.

Creative State of Mind

Hello, it’s me again. Harping on small publishers. Yes, I know I’ve covered much of this territory before, but after talking to a new round of unhappy authors, I thought I’d better talk about publishing again.

Over the past couple of days, I’ve been working on formatting The Seance. I’ve formatted a book before, but for some reason, I really struggled with the task today. At one point, I even considered hiring someone to do it for me. Fortunately (for my wallet), I persevered and eventually got it right. Though I briefly thought about the possibility of outsourcing this particular task, at no time did I say to myself, “I wish I would have given all my rights to a publisher so I wouldn’t have to worry about the details of bringing my book to press.”

For those of you who are new to my blog, I’m a little gun-shy…

View original post 1,227 more words

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

