Musical Mondays – When I’m Gone (Cups) by Anna Kendrick

Over the weekend I had a house full of giggly 8-year-old girls spend the night for my daughter’s birthday party. It was a splash/spa theme where they spent the afternoon on the water slide and then were pampered by me and a couple of my friends. They got the royal treatment with manicures, pedicures, and hair chalk while sipping out of plastic champagne glasses filled with sparkling cider.

What I didn’t expect was to get a treat in return. After practicing for half an hour or so they performed the song, When I’m Gone. All five sang and one of my daughter’s friends played the cups. It was adorable and I’ve had the song stuck in my head since so that is the song for this Musical Monday.

19 thoughts on “Musical Mondays – When I’m Gone (Cups) by Anna Kendrick”

  1. Just a note, because people seem to not know this: the cup song in it’s entirety was first preformed on you tube by a 14 year old YEARS before it was done in that movie.. they copied it.

          1. Yep. Still don’t think I found the original youtube with the one teen playing the cups though. The earliest I found was by two teens in 2009 with comments saying they were the first.

  2. I always wondered why my students did “the cup thing” at lunch and finally realized after watching “Pitch Perfect” where they got the idea. I love the movie and the song 😉

    1. It’s very catchy, for sure! I didn’t know it was so popular with teens until I published this post. The original “Cups” was performed by two teens in a 2009 youtube video. From what I’ve heard Pitch Perfect acknowledges this in the credits. The song was originally recorded in 1937.

  3. My daughter loves this song and can even do the ‘cup thing.’ Of course, she drives her other siblings crazy with it. Pitch Perfect was a great movie and something we enjoyed watching together. Those spa and slumber parties will be memories you can treasure forever. Glad you had a great time with the girls.

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

