Musical Mondays: Radioactive by Imagine Dragons

As a writer I’m inspired by many things and music is one of them. It seems to bring ideas to life, to give them wings as Plato so eloquently stated.

“Music gives a soul to the universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination and life to everything.” ~ Plato

Music communicates something that words alone cannot. This post is the first in a series I’ll title Musical Mondays where I’ll share music that has inspired me. This inaugural post is in honor of my twelve-year-old son who inspires me daily. His baseball season ended this past weekend and the song “Radioactive” is one of his favorites. According to him, “This would be a cool walk-up song.”

“Radioactive”

Whoa, whoa, whoa Whoa, whoa, whoa
Whoa, whoa, whoa
Whoa

I’m waking up to ash and dust
I wipe my brow and I sweat my rust
I’m breathing in the chemicals

I’m breaking in, shaping up, then checking out on the prison bus
This is it, the apocalypse
Whoa

I’m waking up, I feel it in my bones
Enough to make my systems blow
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, I’m radioactive, radioactive
Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, I’m radioactive, radioactive

I raise my flags, don my clothes
It’s a revolution, I suppose
We’re painted red to fit right in
Whoa

I’m breaking in, shaping up, then checking out on the prison bus
This is it, the apocalypse
Whoa

I’m waking up, I feel it in my bones
Enough to make my systems blow
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, I’m radioactive, radioactive
Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, I’m radioactive, radioactive

All systems go, the sun hasn’t died
Deep in my bones, straight from inside

I’m waking up, I feel it in my bones
Enough to make my systems blow
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Welcome to the new age, to the new age
Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, I’m radioactive, radioactive
Whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, whoa, I’m radioactive, radioactive

17 thoughts on “Musical Mondays: Radioactive by Imagine Dragons”

      1. Oh both were awesome. I remember now the muppet fights! lol. The cover was cool because it had a more post apocalyptic feel to it, like Mad Max, which fit better than muppet fights, lol

    1. Oh, I didn’t even know it had been made into a movie. I just looked on Rotten Tomatoes and they gave it 1 star, guess that’s why I didn’t hear much about it.

  1. I LOVE this song and the video really captured my imagination. The Muppets and Lou Diamond Phillips really shocked me and the metaphors are limitless!

    Great choice!

  2. I truly love this song. It has been on my Exercise playlist for a good few weeks now! I think the video is super cool; although cute and cruel at the same time – weird combo!! Anyway, thanks for posting this!!

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

