Quote of the Week: Oscar Wilde

“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.” ~ Oscar Wilde

English: Oscar Wilde, three-quarter length por...
English: Oscar Wilde, three-quarter length portrait, facing front, seated, leaning forward, left elbow resting on knee, hand to chin, holding walking stick in right hand, wearing coat. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It takes a great deal of courage to live out your dreams. It’s terrifying to step off the well-traveled path and clear your own trail, one that is certain to be laden with complications. Eventually the path will lead to an obstacle that will seem insurmountable…a veritable mountain or cliff. As you gaze into the heights above or the depths below you are faced with a choice and all logic will tell you the quest is impossible. Most will give up at this point, turn around and head back toward the safety of the well-traveled path. But not you, after dismissing all the options that you know won’t work, you will simply discover a new one and cross over into a world very few have the courage to go.

This one is for all my friends who are blazing their own trail. Godspeed.

13 thoughts on “Quote of the Week: Oscar Wilde”

        1. Oooh, I would love to own some rare first editions. You’re not a nerd. Okay, maybe you are but join the club. I always tell my husband that he married a nerd and that I didn’t reveal my secret until after we were married. I hooked him in like a good book 🙂

          1. Ha! Us women plot and plan but it is the nerd that gets her man:) love it. I spend way too much on books this means I am a poor nerd. Lol

          2. I don’t even want to know how much I spend on books…or shoes. I usually pick them up used (the books, not the shoes) since I don’t work anymore. I can only imagine if I collected rare books…that would be most detrimental to my pocketbook 🙂

          3. Shoes….mmmmmm. I may have a slight issue with too many shoes as well. I also like collecting random series books. It makes me feel accomplished when I find an entire set. 🙂

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

