Blogger Quote of the Week: Lauren Sapala

In a recent post, I decided to share a favorite quote from the blogs I’ve read during the week. This was more difficult than I anticipated. At one point I had several quotes listed and I was finding it difficult to pick one. You, my cyber friends, are a witty, introspective, and eloquent bunch.  While your words enlighten and amuse me, they also stir up doubts that say, “What the hell are you thinking? You don’t belong in this group. You’re a fraud, an imposter.”

Then I stumbled across this post from Lauren Sapala and it was exactly what I needed to read at the time. Was it a moment of serendipity or synchronicity? Some may call it a serendipitous event, but I’m that strange type that looks upon seemingly random occurrences dubiously. I tend to look for the meaning or the pattern in almost everything. It’s my way of trying to make sense of the world. I do feel in some strange way we are all connected at a higher subconscious level…metaphysically. I think when we are plagued with doubts and fears this metaphysical universe conspires to send us messages of hope until we can overcome them. And sometimes, like Lauren, we are the ones unknowingly sending the messages.

So without further ado, here is the inaugural Blogger Quote of the Week.

“Yes, today’s world is full of writers and the publishing industry is undergoing a complete revolution. Yes, it’s terrifying to put your work out there and be judged for it. Yes, you will question and doubt yourself, and you will wonder if you’re going to make it.

Yes to all of the above, and yes, you are still meant to be a writer.

That means that if you don’t write—if you turn away from your gifts as a storyteller—you will always feel like something is missing. You will always dream that your life could have turned out differently. And you will always feel an empty place inside.

The missing piece, the life that includes fulfillment, the sustenance to fill that empty place, these things are all to be found in your writing.”  ~Lauren Sapala

9 thoughts on “Blogger Quote of the Week: Lauren Sapala”

  1. Great quote. I think we’re all tempted to compare ourselves with others. I know I do. I second guess myself all the time. What a waste of energy! Fretting keeps my mind off the task (finishing my WiP revise).

    1. It is a waste of energy and the biggest obstacle to creativity but sometimes it’s so hard to suppress. I just need to read all these wonderful, uplifting quotes whenever the doubts creep back in.

  2. Thank you so much for quoting me! I think we writers tend to struggle with self-doubt and comparison to others A LOT (at least, I do!). And I agree, I believe we’re all connected at a higher level too. Thank you so much for your ongoing support Melissa, it means a lot!

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

