Whisked Off to the Magical World of Windemere: One Reader’s Adventure

BOAHSo I haven’t been on the blogosphere much lately but it’s not really my fault, you see. I must place blame on fellow blogger and author, Charles Yallowitz for writing a wonderful novel titled, Legends of Windemere: Beginning of a Hero. I started to read it but reluctantly set it aside. I was determined to finish another book I was in the middle of reading before moving on to BOAH, but it seems BOAH had other plans for me. Did I just refer to Charles’ book as if it was a live entity? Ahem, yes, I did. He created a world so fascinating and with such compelling characters that, well…read on and you’ll understand.

It was an ordinary day, or so I thought. I was standing in the fruit section of the grocery store, filling my cart with green apples, thinking of an adorable little character who shared my craving for the fruit. A faint whirring sound interrupted my thoughts. I scanned the area, even looked up into the rafters for a wild bird, but didn’t see anything other than a multicolored haze around my head. Humph. That’s odd. I’m seeing rainbows inside a grocery store.  I shrugged my shoulders and started to move on when I noticed an apple was missing from my cart.

“What the…”

Fizzle love apples!” I felt something clutch my shoulder and when I turned my head a cute little drite was resting upon it, chomping on my apple.

“Hey! I know you. You’re that little dragon from Charles’ book.”

He hopped onto the handle of my grocery cart and put his hands on his hips. His iridescent scales turned reddish-purple as he said, “You no read Charles book.”

I leaned back, surprised by the attack. “Oh! Uh, yeah, I know. I started to read it and it’s really good but I’ve got another book I need to finish first.”

“Why? You no like story?”

“No! It’s not that at all! In fact, I’m having a hard time finishing the other one because I keep thinking of Charles’ book. It’s so much more interesting.”

The color of his scales faded to a cool greenish-blue and he smiled. “Who say finish boring book first?”

“Well, I did. I’m on this quest to read the Modern Library’s top 100 novels of all time. And…what?”

Fizzle shook his head. “Forget list. You rebel. Charles write very good book.”

“You know what, you’re right. There’s no rule that says I have to finish the other one first. I don’t like to follow rules, anyway.” I looked at Fizzle with a devilish grin. “Plus, I am a bit of a rebel, as you said.”

“Charles no follow rules either.”

“Oh, you’re talking about his writing in present tense, huh?”

“Yeah.”

“I have to admit, my internal editor was driving me nuts at first. Part of being a writer I suppose, but creative minds can turn it off easily enough, especially if the story is good.”

“Fizzle no like past tense. Fizzle alive now.”

I chuckled. “Yes, I can see that. Well, since you’re obviously on my mind, I’m going to stop torturing myself, toss that other book aside, and finish reading Beginning of a Hero.”

“You read Charles book, now?”

I nodded. “Yes, as soon as I get home.”

He crossed his arms and said, “Now.”

“I will, Fizzle. I promise. I left my Kindle at home.”

He held up a small stone and fixed his gaze on me. I looked at him, puzzled by the small stone in his grip. He tossed it in my direction and said, “Visindor!”

The next instant I was standing at the edge of a vast forest with Fizzle hovering at my side. I gasped. “Visindor Forest? It’s beautiful!” Fizzle patted his hand on his heart and I immediately understood his meaning. “I agree. There’s no place like home.” I turned around and saw a massive wooden wall in the distance. “Is that…?”

“Luke school.”

“Hamilton Military Academy. How did we get here?”

“Tele…telep…magic stone.”

“Is Luke here?”

“Yes. Luke train.”

“Really? Can we watch?” I started walking toward the wall.

He touched my arm with the end of his tail and said, “First, hide.”

I watched in disbelief as my skin turned an iridescent color and then my arm disappeared. I glanced down at my body but it had disappeared as well. “How did you do that?”

“No know. Your hallu…hall…your dream.”

“Oh, I’m hallucinating. That’s just great. You look real to me, Fizzle. See, I can touch-” I reached out to touch him but he winked and then disappeared. I was afraid my little friend had abandoned me until I felt him land on my shoulder.

He whispered in my ear, “We invi…inv…no one see us.”

As we approached the wall, I heard voices and clanging metal in the distance. There was a training exercise in progress and one young warrior stood out from the rest. I recognized him immediately.

“Hey, there’s Luke! You know, he’s better looking than I imagined,” I whispered and then cringed. “Oh! Don’t tell anyone I said that. I’m old enough to be his mother.”

I heard Fizzle stifle a giggle. “Fizzle keep secret.”

I looked at the crowd gathered to watch the exercises. Two little fellows were looking on with interest. “Oh! There’s Nimby – I can tell by those big, fuzzy feet. And that must be Fritz,” I said as I observed the other turn to flirt with a nearby female. She slapped him and started to walk away. I giggled. “Yep, that’s Fritz all right.” A young half-elf was standing near them, dressed in long flowing robes with a sun emblem on the front, trying unsuccessfully to apologize for Fritz’s actions. “That’s obviously Aedyn, the sun priest.” I studied the other students. “Hmm, I wonder who the heir is…the one that Luke needs to find and protect.” I took a step toward the crowd when Fizzle’s tail wrapped around my neck. He launched himself from my shoulder and pulled me away. “Wait! I don’t want to leave yet!”

“You too loud. We get caught!” Once we were out of sight, Fizzle reappeared before me. “Must see Caster Swamp.”

“N-n-n-no! Fizzle! Don’t you dare toss another magic stone at me! I don’t need to see Caster Swamp or the Hellfire Elf or the Lich! They are horrible enough in my imagination!”

“You read story?”

“Yes, Fizzle! You don’t need to threaten me with Caster Swamp! Seriously! I’ll read it. I need to know how it ends. That’s obviously why you’re here, right?”

“You like Fizzle?”

“Yes. Who wouldn’t? You’re cute.”

Fizzle’s iridescent scales turned a deep shade of crimson. He mumbled something and tossed another one of those darn magic stones at me.

To my disappointment, I was back in the grocery store, standing in the fruit section. It was as if I had never left. For a second, I thought I had imagined it all until I noticed the remnants of an eaten apple in my cart.

When I arrived home, I immediately curled up on the couch with my Kindle, and lost myself in the magical world of Windemere again. When I finished the book, I smiled and said, “Fizzle was right. Charles write very good story.”

40 thoughts on “Whisked Off to the Magical World of Windemere: One Reader’s Adventure”

    1. Thanks! I’ve never written a review and didn’t think, “The author wrote a fantastic book with compelling characters….” would drive home how much I like this book. The best way I knew how to convey it was through this little story showing how the characters I’d grown to love upon a partial reading kept calling me back, begging me to read their story. The characters literally kept invading my thoughts until I set the other book aside and finished Charles’ book and it was definitely worth it 🙂

    1. Thought the pingbacks might freak you out a bit, but I love your “Ask a Character” series and the comments are hilarious so I wanted others to be directed there too. YOU created a great character in Fizzle. I actually love them all. Very well done 🙂

        1. Fizzle gives me the warm fuzzies! He reminds me a little of Dobby. Oh! Please tell me he won’t be killed in a future novel! The other characters are awesome too! Keira (different spelling than yours) is the name of the main character in my WIP. When I saw it in yours, I thought, well darn now I need to change her name, but the meaning of it has relevance to the story. I’m curious. How did you choose the name, Kira?

          1. I’m not even sure how I could kill Fizzle.

            Kira was originally named Linny, but I had to change it because it was too immature. I had an old childhood friend named Kira and she was mentioned in passing by my dad. The name stuck after that.

          2. {breathes sigh of relief} Oh good! Glad to hear that Fizzle will survive. Uh, yeah, good thing you changed the name. I like Kira much better 🙂

    1. Good luck with that Ionia. You like strawberries right? Maybe even eat them daily? I think Fizzle may be allergic to strawberries. I’ve got an apple pie in the oven right now. Muahahaha!

  1. Melissa this was a very creative feature! I felt like I was getting something for free by getting to read this, and I have to admit it really makes me want to add this book to my reading list. Thank you for writing this, it was such a treat to read. 🙂

  2. Haha this is very cute, Melissa. What a great way to feature another writer’s novel. It’s funny you mentioned that you don’t have to finish the other book first; I just wrote a post about it, in which I basically rant about how I didn’t like James Joyce’s “A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man” and so I didn’t finish it! There’s always some guilt that lingers though, isn’t there? 🙂

    1. LOL, I just commented on that post. I like challenges (reading the Modern Library Top 100) and it will bother me if I can’t check this book off of my list. So I’ll probably continue to torture myself {sigh}.

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

