A Long Overdue Thank You on Award Nominations

This post is long overdue so I want to apologize to those bloggers who nominated me. Please know that I appreciate the nomination and mostly my interaction with YOU very much! I was nominated for the following awards:

I’ve already been nominated for the Wonderful Team Member Award and the Best Moment Award. If you are interested in reading my responses, just click on the link.

L. Marie is a children’s fantasy writer who has an innate curiosity about everything and is a huge LOTR fan (like me). I knew there was a reason I liked her so much 🙂

Patty (Petite Maguique) is a YA fantasy book writer, poet and photographer. A beautiful soul who bravely allows her feelings to bleed onto the page.

Daniel (Sairyou) is a deep thinker who pens some incredibly insightful posts. I could say finding his blog was serendipitous but I have a hard time believing in happy accidents. I believe that things happen for a reason and it’s up to us to find the meaning in it. His blog really makes me ponder things.

Lauren (Paranormal Perspective) is a paranormal fiction writer who, like me, shares an appreciation for stories about good vs. evil. Her favorite book is Paradise Lost which, if you haven’t read it, is a book of poems based on the biblical story of the fall of man.

Please take the time to visit their blogs. You will be glad you did.

liebster-blog-awardliebster-award

The Liebster Award/Liebster Blog Award

The aim of this award is to spotlight up and coming blogs with less than 200 followers. There are no set rules for the award, but the guidelines are as follows:

  • Copy and paste an image of the award onto your blog
  • Write a post on your blog to thank the person who nominated you and include a link to their blog.
  • Nominate some blogs for the award. There is no rule for the number of blogs you nominate, but the general recommendation is at least 5 blogs that are similarly up and coming with fewer than 200 followers.
  • Answer the questions from the person who nominated you in your post.
  • Ask at least 5 questions on your blog for those you nominated for the award to answer.
  • In addition to the questions and answers, list at least 5 random facts about yourself.

ANSWERS to Daniel’s Questions:

1. If money were a nonissue, what would you do?

Write, of course, but I’d travel the world with my family while doing it.

2. If there were a giant DELETE button, what would you erase completely off the earth?

It’s said that money is the root of all evil, but I believe it is greed. Money can be used for good (see # 11). It is the intent behind the acquisition or utilization of it that can be the real evil. Greed is the insatiable desire to acquire wealth, power and/or possessions far beyond what is necessary to be comfortable. Greed leaves an endless trail of crimes such as slavery, child labor, deforestation, poaching, white collar crimes (fraud, insider trading, embezzlement), war and on and on.

3. Name anybody famous, living or dead, whom you would like to have dinner with.

Abraham Lincoln.

4. What would you talk about with (3)?

Not only was he the greatest American president in history but he was also a writer. Unlike most presidents, he wrote his own speeches. He didn’t look to someone else to put words in his mouth. I’d ask what inspired his speeches. I’d ask him about perseverance. He didn’t let past failures stop him. He kept trying and preparing. He fought for what he believed in, regardless of popular opinion. He put much at risk, even his own life, to bring about great change. He didn’t take himself too seriously. He used humor to weather the bad times. He kept his priorities in order, even as the leader of the free world, by taking time out to spend with his family. How can you read these words and not be moved:

Four score and seven years ago our fathers brought forth on this continent, a new nation, conceived in liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal…It is rather for us to be here dedicated to the great task remaining before us–that from these honored dead we take increased devotion to that cause for which they gave the last full measure of devotion–that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain, that this nation, under God, shall have a new birth of freedom, and that government of the people, by the people, for the people, shall not perish from the earth.

5. Summarize why you write in one or two words.

Longing fulfilled.

6. If you had one one-way ticket to live in outer space, would you go?

Absolutely not. We are not meant to be alone. Relationships give life meaning.

7. If all books were to disappear from the universe but one, what would you want it to be?

For me it is the Bible. I’m drawn to stories of good vs. evil and so many writers have been inspired by it.

8. Describe your writing routine.

I write while my kids are at school or when they’re asleep.

9. How do you get inspiration?

I run or listen to music (usually concurrently) and read.

10. If you could be anybody other than yourself on Earth, who?

I can’t think of anyone. I know that sounds incredibly narcissistic but I’ve never wanted to be anyone else. Sure, there are people who I admire or respect but they inspire me to be a better version of myself. We each have our own set of talents, abilities, life experiences and perspectives. I believe we should embrace who we are; otherwise, we waste everything that makes us unique by wishing we were someone else.

11. What was the kindest thing you have ever done to a complete stranger?

I sponsor an adorable little girl named Kimberly who lives in Columbia. I send money every month that allows her to attend school and have hot meals. I send extra money on special occasions like Christmas so she can have new shoes, clothes or toys. I write to her and have received some of the sweetest letters and pictures that she has drawn for me in return.

ANSWERS to Lauren’s Questions

1. How did you become interested in blogging?

When I decided to become a writer, I started reading everything I could get my hands on about the craft of writing. Eventually I came across a book that referenced blogging which led me to writer blogs. Those blogs recommended that writers become involved in social media like blogging.

2. What’s your favorite food?

I love green apples and pretty much anything with lemon in it. I also love chips and queso.

3. What is one thing most people don’t know about you?

I’m an aspiring author.

4. What is one thing you wish more people knew about you?

I had a friend tell me that an acquaintance thought I was a snob because I didn’t talk much. Fortunately, this friend came to my defense. I’m generally shy and reserved with people I just meet and would rather listen to you talk than myself. If we’re not involved in a conversation then I probably have a story swirling in my head.

5. What’s your favorite book?

It’s hard to pick just one so I’ll name a few: The Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, To Kill a Mockingbird, Great Expectations,  and Pride and Prejudice.

6. What’s your favorite movie?

Again it’s hard to pick just one. I’m not much for chick flicks. I love stories about good vs. evil, the unlikely hero, or one who is granted power without seeking it and doesn’t use it selfishly but for some greater good. I also love stories about the power of the human spirit,  overcoming insurmountable odds. Here is the list, in no particular order:

  • The Lord of the Rings
  • Braveheart
  • Harry Potter
  • Shawshank Redemption
  • Gladiator
  • Cinderella Man
  • The Pursuit of Happiness
  • Seabiscuit
  • Lincoln
  • Pride and Prejudice

7. What do you watch for TV?

I got hooked on The Walking Dead and have recently discovered Downtown Abbey but I don’t watch much TV. I’m sick to death of reality shows and unfortunately that’s what is popular. Toddlers and Tiara’s? Honey Boo-Boo? Jersey Shore? Housewives of…whatever? Teen Mom? Seriously, what is wrong with our society? But I guess there is an upside. They can give you ideas if you’re looking for flaws to blend into your characters but I can’t bear to watch them.

8. What advice would you give to fellow bloggers?

Be yourself and for heaven’s sake, don’t fret over things like stats or the number of followers you have. Enjoy the authentic connections you’ve made. That’s the real treasure of blogging.

My Questions for the Nominees:

  1. Name anybody famous, living or dead, whom you would like to have a conversation with. What would you talk about?
  2. What is your favorite book?
  3. What is the one thing you’d like most to change about the world?
  4. What advice do you have for writers?
  5. If you won the lottery, what is the first thing you would do with your newfound wealth and how would you spend the rest of it?
  6. What is the difference between being alive and truly living?
  7. If you had six months to live, what would you do with the time?
  8. Do you have any regrets?

The Nominees:

Alice Huskisson Author

Author A.J. Adwen

Book Marks

Where Do I Go From Here

Destiny Allison

Disregard the Prologue

Lauren Sapala

versatileaward1The Versatile Blogger Award

The Rules

Thank and link to the person who gave you the award.
Tell seven facts about yourself.
Pass it on to seven other bloggers.
Link to specific posts on their blogs so they’ll be notified by pingback

7 Facts About Me

  1. I have implants. No, not those kind, silly. Dental implants. I had perfectly straight teeth without ever wearing braces and then four of them were crushed in a car accident.
  2. I still have my tonsils and wisdom teeth but had my adenoids removed when I was losing my hearing at age five
  3. I am taller than average at 5’8”
  4. I love to draw, paint, and create.
  5. I owned a scrapbook store while working full-time at my former job (no, I didn’t sleep much).
  6. I don’t like to cook. In our home it’s often said, “If it ain’t burnt, it ain’t Mama’s!” (No we don’t normally talk that way). I just don’t have the patience to stand at the stove. I’m easily distracted by things I’d much rather be doing (i.e., writing) but I’ve found that a glass of wine can keep me in the kitchen.
  7.  I do love to bake, though and am often told that the creations I make are better than store-bought, which bewilders me because the creation generally originates from a box cake. I won the award for best creation at the neighborhood cookie swap. Don’t laugh. It was a highly coveted award (LOL). I didn’t know what I was going to make until just before the party. I found out later that the women in the neighborhood spent weeks planning and scheming, even finding out the favorite flavors of the judges. When I won, it was highly contested that my creation of chocolate covered, caramel filled cherry mice didn’t qualify as a cookie, but it was all in good fun. 🙂

The Nominees:

Christa in New York

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

Destiny Allison

Disregard the Prologue

Sairyoume

The Other Side of the Story

The Write Niche

14 thoughts on “A Long Overdue Thank You on Award Nominations”

  1. Congratulations! Great answers! I love what you do for Kimberly. I really think as human beings we ought to care for each other and not give in to greed.

    Thank you for your kind words in recommending my blog. I really appreciate it. 🙂

  2. I enjoyed your answers!!! You are awesome! I have some of the same favorite flicks as you. Especially loved this: “I can’t think of anyone. I know that sounds incredibly narcissistic but I’ve never wanted to be anyone else. Sure, there are people who I admire or respect but they inspire me to be a better version of myself. We each have our own set of talents, abilities, life experiences and perspectives. I believe we should embrace who we are; otherwise, we waste everything that makes us unique by wishing we were someone else.” So true!

    Thanks for the shout-out! 🙂

  3. Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful words! Congratulations on your awards, you deserve them! Your blog is one of my favorite blogs; your writing is always positive and insightful and reflects not only how amazing you are as a writer/blogger but a person as well.

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

