A Grammar Lesson From a Second Grader

commas save livesI thought I’d post something a little fun for Friday. This was a conversation I had with my seven-year-old daughter last night.

“Mama, did you know commas save lives?”

“Really? How?” (I’m pretty sure I know where she’s going with this but I’m looking forward to hearing her explanation).

“Well, if you read, ‘Let’s eat, Grandma,’ but the comma is missing then you’d read it like ‘Let’s eat Grandma!’ See, commas save lives!” She giggles. I shake my head and smile. “Do you get it?”

“Yes, I do. Thank goodness for commas!”

“I know! What if, when I was feeding Sophie (our puppy), instead of saying, ‘Time to eat, Sophie,’ I said, ‘Time to eat Sophie!’ That just wouldn’t be right.”

So, if you’ve got some time to kill writers, check for those missing commas. Oops. Let’s try that again. If you’ve got some time to kill, writers, check for those missing commas. You could save a life.

29 thoughts on “A Grammar Lesson From a Second Grader”

    1. Yes, don’t want to edit my gravatar to read: wife, mother, writer, KILLER. Well, come to think of it, I’ve killed quite a few Little Darlings in my writing so maybe I should add that in afterall 🙂

  1. Oh my! How many have I killed through lack of a simple comma? Very cute story. It reminds me a little of the old Art Linkletter show, ‘Kids Say The Darndest Things’.

          1. Thank you Melissa. We had a nice, quiet weekend and it was fun. My husband has been working on his little MG, named Margaret. He gave her a new engine, so it was a big project, but she’ll be as good as new soon.

    1. Thanks she has a wonderful teacher who makes learning fun. When she called roll on the first day of school, instead of having them answer, “Here,” she asked them to act like a robot and say, “Activate!” We need more teachers like her.

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

