Another Reason to Add Imperfections in Your Character

You Need More Scoundrels in Your Life: How to Write a Han Solo Hero in Six Easy
Steps!

I came across this post by Tiffany Reisz on Janice Hardy’s blog and wanted to share since it relates to the point I made in my post What the Perfect Face Can Teach Writers About Characterization. While I only made a general reference to building flaws into your character’s behavior, Tiffany’s post provides six tips for doing just that.

Why do we need such flawed characters to become emotionally invested? I think it’s because we can relate to those imperfections.  We all make mistakes. We all have regrets. We all falter. We root for them because if they can persevere, even change, then there is hope for us as well. They inspire us to get up, dust ourselves off and try again.

“I don’t think I could love you so much if you had nothing to complain of and nothing to regret.  I don’t like people who have never fallen or stumbled.  Their virtue is lifeless and of little value.  Life hasn’t revealed its beauty to them.”  ~ Boris PasternakDoctor Zhivago

3 thoughts on “Another Reason to Add Imperfections in Your Character”

  1. It’s funny. We were just discussing Han Solo at my blog, so I soooooooo get this. We need well-rounded characters. Writing a flawed hero is not easy! I wrote a scene where my main character deeply hurts another character. My beta reader said, “She’s not very likable here.” But that was the point!!!! Sometimes we hurt each other! We don’t always like each other. That’s the human drama.

  2. “We root for them because if they can persevere, even change, then there is hope for us as well. They inspire us to get up, dust ourselves off and try again.” I like how you said it 🙂 Made me remember and miss my creative writing subject last semester. 🙂

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

