More Awards? I’m Not Worthy.

I’m speechless yet again. I was nominated for three more awards last week. I apologize for the delay in expressing my gratitude to those who nominated me. My days have been busier than usual lately. My beautiful niece asked me to help plan her wedding and I’m doing my best to live up to her expectations. No, she’s not a bridezilla but she seems to hold my skills in high regard so I don’t want to disappoint.

veryinspiringblogawardChildren’s book author Deanie at Thoughts and Ideas from Deanie Humphrys-Dunne nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award and I’m very honored to accept. Thank you so much Deanie!

The Rules:

 1. Display logo on your blog to show you’ve been nominated.

2. Link back to your nominator.

3. Share 7 things about yourself.

4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for the award.

5. Notify your nominees.

Seven Things About Me:

Feel free to skip this part, I’m not that interesting but these are some incredibly stupid things I did when I was young and fearless and thought I was invincible {shaking my head}.

  1. When I was five my brother and I crashed the family car into our neighbors front yard, barely missing their house. The car was parked on a steep driveway. We released the emergency brake and shifted it out of park (imitating my mother’s daily actions).
  2. I often climbed to the roof of my house while playing with my brothers (army, most likely) and fell on one of those occasions (fortunately the injuries were minor).
  3. I rode on the back of a motorcycle travelling at 120 mph (yeah, I know…stupid, stupid, stupid).
  4. I switched places with the driver of a vehicle while driving down the highway (yes, you read that right, the car was in motion).
  5. I’ve been cliff jumping at Pace Bend Park in Austin, Texas (enough said).
  6. I accepted a ride from a stranger when my car broke down. He turned out to be a nice guy but I still cringe when I think of what could have happened (a uniformed security guard doesn’t automatically equal a person you can trust).
  7. I swam across the lake with my sister (we could’ve easily been overlooked by a passing boat and well…you get the idea).

I’d like to thank my guardian angel for working overtime while I was an intrepid (okay, imprudent) youth. I sincerely apologize for these random acts of sheer idiocy.

The Nominees:

I’ve been inspired by so many people in the blogosphere but I’ll follow the rules and only list 15. Next to their name I’ve listed the post(s) they inspired me to write and/or other inspiration I’ve received from them. Please visit their blogs, if you haven’t done so already. You may find inspiration for that next post or scene in your book or life in general. I don’t have a fraction of the talent they do so I feel completely unworthy of being lumped in the same class with them.

  1. Become An Author  inspired one of my first posts: Be Courageous…Be a Writer.
  2. Kristen Lamb’s Blog inspired the post Are You in Your Right Brain? and Wordle:  A Nifty Little Tool for Writers.
  3. Lori’s Inner Goddess inspired the post: ACUBA (Acronyms Commonly Used by Authors).
  4. James Ramsey inspired the post: Had to Rush My Baby to the ICU.
  5. Legends of Windemere inspired me to write: Shoot ‘Em Up! Rawhide (We Write)! after reading his adventures with self publishing.
  6. Jill London inspired me to play the piano again and to write the post: Inspiration for Writers Spending Themselves in a Worthy Cause.
  7. Barbara Crowe inspired the post: A Longing Fulfilled is the Tree of Life.
  8. Creative Writing with the Crimson League inspired the post: When Your Characters Come to Life. No, REALLY come to Life.
  9. Digging History inspired me to write about something in my next book by visiting his blog.
  10. Julie Green Art inspired me to brush up on my photography skills and dust off my art supplies.
  11. Author A.J. Adwen inspires me to persevere on my journey to becoming  an author.
  12. Petite Magique inspired me to dig deeper into one of my characters.
  13. Time to Write: I’d heard of pinning pictures of images that remind you of characters and scenes in your book but one of his posts inspired me to create a board of favorite book covers.
  14. 101 Books blogs about his quest to read Time Magazine’s Top 100 Novels and inspires me to keep up with a similar pursuit I started in 2011, to read the Modern Library’sTop 100. I’ve merged the Time Magazine Top 100 with my list.
  15. Free Little Words inspires me to keep my priorities in order and focus on what really matters.

copper-sunToria at Temitoria’s Wit nominated me for two awards: The Shine On Award and The Wonderful Team Member Readership Award. Thank you so much sweet Toria! Visit her blog and you will see that she has the soul of a poet. I’ve already accepted The Shine On Award here so I won’t bore you with more things about me.

Wonderful Team Member Readership Award

The Rules:

1. Display the Wonderful Team Member Readership Award logo on his/her blog.

2. Nominate 14 readers they appreciate over a period of 7 days, all at once or little by little, as most convenient to the nominee.

3. Name the Wonderful Team Member Readership Award nominees on a post or post(s).

The Nominees:

  1. Book Reviews & Poetry
  2. Daily (w)rite
  3. Human Writes
  4. Readful Things
  5. James Ramsey
  6. Jill London
  7. John W Howell
  8. Julie Israel
  9. Kira Lyn Blue
  10. L. Marie
  11. Legends of Windemere
  12. Petite Magique
  13. Sairyou.me
  14. Temitoria’s Wit

Congratulations to the nominees of these two awards. Please do not feel obligated to accept just know that you positively affect the lives of others and this blogger in particular appreciates you very much.

34 thoughts on “More Awards? I’m Not Worthy.”

  1. I’m so excited that you got nominated for more awards, Melissa! Everyone knows how special you are so they know where to go when they’re looking for nominees. I missed you while you were busy planning your niece’s wedding. I”m sure it will be spectacular!

    1. Aww, Deanie! You are such a sweetheart! Thank you! The wedding is in July and I have a lot more to do but it’s a labor of love. I’d do anything for that girl. I love her like she’s my own child.

      1. Thanks, Melissa, I’m sure your niece appreciates all your hard work and she’s so lucky to have you on her wedding planning team! it’s going to be so special. I hope you share some pictures with us.

  2. So much inspiration! The blogosphere is a good environment for writers 🙂 I love that I inspired you to write that post and that I inspired you to play the piano again. Thanks for nominating me Melissa xx

    1. Well, I better dust off the keys if we’re going to perform a duet someday 🙂 I have to say it wouldn’t be very pretty on my end. I get nervous playing in front of others.

  3. Congratz Melissa! And you are worthy of these awards, you are a very special person. Don’t forget that ever!!!
    Thank you for nominating me, I am honored and greatful! 🙂
    I will do the post soon.
    Laughed a lot while reading your 7 things, I am exactly the same! Always do before I think (and mostly it’s not the most clever things to do, but it sure is fun!) 🙂
    Hugz and lots of love to you! ❤

    1. Awww, thanks Patty! {blushing} You’re so sweet! We must have some thrill-seeking aspect to our personalities. I hope my kids don’t carry that trait.LOL. {{HUGS}} ❤

  4. Hey Melissa, I’m doing this piece about blog awards. I’m conducting a secret one-question survey. 🙂

    Why do you think we bloggers keep handing each other these awards?

    1. It’s difficult to put this into words. I created a video in my post: The Best Moment Award that conveys my feelings on this but I’ll give it a try here as well:
      Writing is an emotionally volatile experience. One day you’re up, soaring high, feeling like you can conquer the world. You can do this thing…become a published author. The next day you hit rock bottom, doubting every word that you’ve placed on the page. What am I thinking? I’ll never be good enough. This is crap.
      Then you read something that another blogger has written in a post. It may make you laugh or cry or stare in wonder at the beauty of the writing. You’re inspired, uplifted, re-energized. You want to let them know what their words mean to you. You comment on their post. They reply. A connection is made.
      Writing is a solitary pursuit. You sit alone at a computer and pour your innermost thoughts and feelings onto the page. Like Hemingway said, “All you do is sit at the typewriter and bleed.” It’s encouraging to know you’re not alone, someone can relate to something you’ve written and that affirmation is more precious than gold. It gives us the strength to set aside the doubts and press on.
      Awards are a way to show your appreciation to the writer who inspired our encouraged you. You can even view them as badges of courage. It takes courage to be a writer because with it comes judgment. It’s inevitable. Whether you like it or not, the words you put on a page will be critiqued and not everyone will like what you have to say. Those can be dark times for a writer. The awards are a way of shining a little light on that darkness…saying, “Yes, you are good enough.”

      1. Wow. You’ve explained it beautifully. I’ll feature this in the upcoming post, as is, and link back to your blog. You’ll know when I post it. Thanks a lot! I hope it will lead more people to find inspiration from your blog. 🙂

      2. You should never worry about being inferior to anyone, Melissa. Your writing abilities are remarkable and many people recognize that. You only need to keep using your talents and success is yours.

  5. Melissa you are a gem.
    Can you please explain to me how I was not following you until now?
    Congrats on your awards and I will fulfil my duties post haste.
    Kelly

  6. Congrats on adding to your collection of Blog Bling. Well deserved I might add. And reading the lists of things about you there seems to be quite a few near-misses and coulda been bad scenarios. Phew!! 🙂

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

