When Your Characters Come to Life. No, REALLY Come to Life.

In April, I wrote a post entitled, IT’S ALIVE! Creating Characters That Come to Life. At the time I had no idea how real they could become.

Just two weeks later I was a patient in a doctor’s office waiting to meet my new doctor. He entered the room, talking to me as he was studying  my chart (just like a scene in my book). When he looked up at me I caught my breath (just like the main character in my book but for different reasons). My main character had met him before and was shocked to see him while I was shocked that he looked so much like the doctor I created. At this point I’m oddly nervous (like the character in my book). This is just too weird. He pulls out his stethoscope (just as scripted in my book) and I’m trying to calm down by taking slow, deep breaths (like the main character in my book, but again for a different reason). These similarities start to bewilder me and I laugh to myself (like the character in my book). He places the stethoscope on my back to listen to my breathing and I jump slightly (again, like the character in my book). He apologizes for the stethoscope being cold (as written in my book) and I start to wonder, “What the hell is going on?”  He stands in front of me to check the lymph nodes in my throat and I notice…I can’t believe it! Okay, I’m starting to freak out now.

{Cue The Twilight Zone opening theme music}

He has a small scar on his upper lip just like the character in my book! Okay, if he pulls out a tongue depressor and starts chatting about taking his mother to the airport I might just flip out. Thankfully he doesn’t and the similarities to my book end. Weird, huh? Well, I guess I’ve got plausibility covered, right?

I got the inspiration to finish writing this post when I read this post  on Victoria Greger’s blog. She came across one of the characters in her book as well.  If you haven’t visited her blog I highly recommend that you do. She has given so much good advice for writers on her blog that her followers have suggested she write a book, which she is working on.

Have you had a similar experience to me and Victoria? Have you ever run into one of the characters that you’ve created?  Have you ever crossed over into the Twilight Zone?

“You unlock this door with the key of imagination. Beyond it is another dimension – a dimension of sound, a dimension of sight, a dimension of mind. You’re moving into a land of both shadow and substance, of things and ideas. You’ve just crossed over into the Twilight Zone.”

20 thoughts on “When Your Characters Come to Life. No, REALLY Come to Life.”

  1. I’ve never physically run into one of my characters, but I’ve seen people on television who are nearly the spitting image of a few characters. I say nearly because it’s impossible to find fantasy races in this world. Nobody has pointy ears, which is slightly depressing.

  2. Wow! What an eerie experience you had, Melissa! You did such a good job crafting your character that he was real! Can’t do any better than that! Happy Mom’s Day tomorrow. I’ll be thinking of you.

  3. LOL this hasn’t happened to me yet, but this post had me laughing out loud. I would have been freaking out a little too!

    1. Yes! He wasn’t exactly a clone of my character like the one you met but the resemblance to the image in my mind was still shocking to me. The scar on his lip and the way he seemed to act out the scene in my book was pretty unbelievable though.

  4. I’ve seen people whom I thought looked a bit like my characters. I stared so hard at one guy, he must have thought I was flirting. But really, I was casting him in the movie as my character.

  5. This is so creepy. LOL. One plausible explanation is that you’ve met him before, and you subconsciously recorded his image in your mind before creating your character. Or, from a Buddhist perspective, you might have met him in your past lives and subconsciously remembered him when you wrote your book. 😀

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

