Writers: Where Do You Find Inspiration?

When I was working in the financial services industry, I would occasionally come across a problem that I would have difficulty solving. I could be blocked for thirty minutes or an hour, but the minute I got up to take a break – WHAM! The solution would hit me. Often, this occurred in the restroom, a place I affectionately dubbed the Think Tank. All it took was a simple change of scenery and the solution would materialize.

Since I quit that corporate job, I’m no longer limited to the confines of an office where my options to change the scenery consisted of the restroom, break room or stairwell.  Now, I can change the scenery whenever and however I choose. I can go running, biking or driving so I guess my Think Tank is now more appropriately called Reflection Road.

I was feeling a little unfocused today. The ideas wouldn’t flow. So I headed out for a quick run on Reflection Road and guess what?  It worked. It’s amazing how it always works or me.  I spent hours surfing the internet, staring at the screen, doing just about anything other than writing today. But once I set out on Reflection Road the creative blood started pumping.

The last song on my i-pod was Just Breathe by Pearl Jam and as I listened to the words, a scene from my current WIP formed in my head. I’m still all sweaty but I had to write the scene before hitting the shower. I know many of you can relate. We have to get the idea down as soon as possible for fear that it will vaporize as quickly as it materialized.

I’m often inspired by music and this one was perfect today. Enjoy 🙂

“Just Breathe”

Yes, I understand that every life must end, uh-huh
As we sit alone, I know someday we must go, uh-huh
Oh I’m a lucky man, to count on both hands the ones I love
Some folks just have one, yeah, others, they’ve got none
Stay with me… Let’s just breathe…
Practiced all my sins, never gonna let me win, uh-huh
Under everything, just another human being, uh-huh
I don’t wanna hurt, there’s so much in this world to make me bleed
Stay with me You’re all I see…
Did I say that I need you?
Did I say that I want you?
Oh, if I didn’t I’m a fool you see
No one knows this more than me
As I come clean…
I wonder everyday, as I look upon your face, uh-huh
Everything you gave
And nothing you would save, oh no
Nothing you would take
Everything you gave…
Did I say that I need you?
Oh, did I say that I want you?
Oh, if I didn’t I’m a fool you see
No one knows this more than me
And I come clean, ah…
Nothing you would take
Everything you gave
Hold me til I die
Meet you on the other side…
15 thoughts on “Writers: Where Do You Find Inspiration?”

  1. I have found that… when I have all the time in the world to write, I can’t come up with anything creative… the second I am busy however… I can cram in more writing in ten minutes then in hours of “free time”

  2. Music is definitely inspiring.

    I found the greatest place to clear my head is in the shower. I get a lot of clarity there, as well as ideas.

    I’ve also found that reading a great book, article or post can trigger the creative juices in my mind.

    Great post, Melissa!

    1. Yes, the shower too! My husband and kids sing in the shower but it’s best if I don’t. LOL. It’s still a cacophony even when muffled by the water and the bathroom door.

  3. Ah, I know what it’s like to be “confined”. When I still worked for a corporation—the word itself sounds terribly uninspiring—I never had enough creative energy to write. Now I feel like I can “Just Breathe.” 🙂

  4. I find my inspiration in the hot tub. Seriously! All of my best idea’s came while I was soaking in the hot tub at our health club. That’s why my wife has promised to buy one for the house should I ever get published. 🙂

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

