Wow! I’ve been nominated for FOUR more awards. Thank you!

James at Digging History  nominated me for the Shine On Award! He writes about his adventures in metal detecting. He is a history buff and cares deeply about wildlife and the environment so you can expect each post to touch on those topics as well. Reading his blog is like going on an adventure with him. It’s fascinating and fun to see what he has discovered. I seriously got lost on his blog for hours!

Thank you so much for this nomination James!

shineon1SHINE ON AWARD

THE RULES:

  • Display the award logo on your blog.
  • Link back to the person who nominated you.
  • State 7 things about yourself
  • Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them.
  • Notify those bloggers of the nomination and the award requirements.

SEVEN THINGS ABOUT ME:

  1. I’m a licensed CPA. Still not sure how I passed that exam when I hated every minute I spent studying for it. I guess I have masochistic tendencies.
  2. I can run like the wind blows. Ok, not really but I was fairly fast when I was younger. I ran the 200, 400 relay and 800 relay in track.
  3. According to our family genealogy records, we are descendents of the Mayflower, along with millions of other Americans.
  4. I’ve completed a triathlon in support of my mother who survived breast cancer. Before you start getting all impressed, it was a little sprint distance triathlon (1/2 mile swim/5k run/12 mile bike ride) NOT an Ironman (2.4 mile swim/marathon/112 mile bike ride).  BIG DIFFERENCE. HUGE. I am not that much of a masochist.
  5. I’ve completed the MS 150, a two-day, 180 mile bike ride from Houston to Austin to raise funds for MS. I thought it would be brutal (not sure why I insist on torturing myself), but I really enjoyed it.
  6. I was on a dance team in college. I’d never taken a day of dance in my life (I preferred sports) and tried out on a whim. I bombed the routine when the girl next to me almost kicked me in the face and I couldn’t stop laughing. When they posted the team, somehow my name was on the list.
  7. I’m known as the Queso Queen, the closest to royalty I will ever get. Chips and queso are my weakness.

THE NOMINEES:

  1. Legends of Windemere
  2. Life at Full Throttle
  3. Deanie H. Dunne
  4. James Ramsey
  5. Jill London
  6. Fiction Favorites
  7. Julie Green Art
  8. Disregard the Prologue
  9. Kira Lyn Blue
  10. Laeken Zeakemp
  11. Laura Anile
  12. Lori’s Inner Goddess
  13. Book Reviews & Poetry
  14. Temitoria’s Wit
  15. The Noif Matrix

I know some of you have already received this award so please don’t feel obligated to accept. It’s just your nature to shine, so SHINE ON!

Toria at Temitoria’s Wit   nominated me for the Dragon’s Loyalty Award, The Sunshine Award and The Super Sweet Blogging Award! It is my second nomination for the last two awards so I will respond to the first. Toria is a writer and dancer who loves poetry and music. She has a zest for life that comes through in her posts.  Check out her blog. I’m sure it will have you smiling too! Thank you for the awards Toria! You’re a sweetheart!

dragonsloyaltyawardDRAGON’S LOYALTY AWARD

THE RULES:

  • Display the Award Certificate on your website.
  • Announce your win with a written post and link to whoever presented your award.
  • Present the award to 7 deserving bloggers.
  • Drop them a comment to tip them off after you have nominated them in the post.
  • Post 7 interesting things about yourself
  • If you don’t have a blog but have a website, Facebook, or Twitter or other type account, post there with a link back.

SEVEN THINGS ABOUT ME:

Seven more? I apologize if your eyes start to glaze over. Let’s see…

  1. I’ve been parasailing. It’s like living out all the dreams I’ve had about flying.
  2. I was a tomboy. I preferred to play army or sports with my brothers over playing with dolls.
  3. I was a spelling bee finalist in elementary school. We received a list of words to study over the summer and I never even looked at it. What kid wants to study over the summer, anyway?
  4. My sister taught me to shave my legs when I was 10. She didn’t do a very good job of it because I shaved off a two-inch slice of skin from my shin immediately after. The scar is still slightly visible.
  5. My sister pierced my ears with ice and a needle when I was 12. I’m not sure how she talked me into this. I was her guinea pig on more than one occasion.
  6. My sister taught me how to drive when I was 13. If you haven’t guessed by now, my sister was a bad influence on me.
  7. Like Harry Potter, I’ve raised a pet owl. His name was Buddy and he was a screech owl. My sister and I found him at the base of a large oak tree after a storm. We thought the ball of grey/brown fluff was a baby rabbit until he turned his head and two large yellow eyes stared back at us. My oldest brother taught him how to fly and hunt. If you held your arm up he would fly to you and land on it. Then he would inch his way to your shoulder and hang out there.

THE NOMINEES:

  1. Legends of Windemere
  2. Deanie H. Dunne
  3. James Ramsey
  4. Jill London
  5. Kira Lyn Blue
  6. Lori’s Inner Goddess
  7. Book Reviews & Poetry

Again, I know some of you have already received this award too so please don’t feel obligated to accept but you are just too awesome not to mention. So glad to have met you on the blogosphere!

19 thoughts on “Wow! I’ve been nominated for FOUR more awards. Thank you!”

    1. Thanks James! I’m really enjoying your blog. I was completely riveted by the post you wrote about the body of evidence. What a traumatic experience for a child, even an adult.

      1. Thank you Melissa, I’m pleased your enjoying my blog, I appreciate it. I must admit I can still “feel” the experience even now and as a child I remember being frightened for a long time afterwards.

  1. Congratulations again and again, Melissa! You’re doing a fantastic job and everyone is noticing. Thank you so much for 2 more nominations! I can’t thank you enough! I blush a little whenever I get an award; just not sure I deserve them.

  2. Congratulations, Melissa, and thanks for the nomination!! I gratefully accept 🙂 but I won’t be posting immediately as I have a few other awards and want to put them all together in a kind of award bonanza!

  3. Congrats!!! After reading your first seven things…I could have guessed you were a Tomboy growing up! 🙂

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

