The Best Moment Award

best-moment-award-winner1Wow! Just wow! I was nominated for The Best Moment Award by the lovely and talented Jill London.

The Rules:

Winners re-post this completely with their acceptance speech. This could be written or video recorded. Winners have the privilege of awarding the next awardees! The re-post should include a NEW set of people/blogs worthy of the award with notification sent to them of the great news. Display the award’s badge on your blog/website.

Resources: What makes a good acceptance speech?

  • Gratitude. Thank the people who helped you along the way.
  • Humor. Keep us entertained and smiling.
  • Inspiration. Make your story touch our lives.

Get an idea from the great acceptance speeches compiled in MomentMatters.com/Speech.

My acceptance speech:

“Hi, my name is Melissa Janda and I’m a writer… this is my story, my journey to becoming a published author. I hope it has a good ending.”

I didn’t expect to make that announcement on the blogosphere. When I started this journey, I expected to walk alone, or rather sit alone at my laptop and type thousands of words each day until I had completed a novel. Well, I did that. I submitted my first queries in February and received six fairly quick rejections. I realized I had a lot more to learn. That is when I discovered blogging.

The quote above is an excerpt from my first post and I didn’t know if anyone would ever read it.  But they did and they commented too. Their words encouraged me, inspired me, and told me I was not alone. It led me to their blogs where they shared what they had learned in their own journey. It’s shared in pure benevolence, in respect of other writers and the craft we love. I’m honored to read their words, to absorb the wisdom. They poured their hearts out by sharing hopes and dreams, tragedies and triumphs. At times I was left speechless by the beauty of the writing. Other times I literally laughed out loud. I was even brought to tears.

I dedicate the following video to those of you who have visited my blog, liked my posts, and shared your thoughts, and to all the bloggers out there who are sharing their story. You mean more to me than you know.

“Our chief want is someone who will inspire us to be what we know we could be.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Here are my nominees for the Best Moment Award

  1. LorisInnerGoddess.wordpress.com
  2. KiraLynBlue.com
  3. ShanesBookBlog.wordpress.com
  4. LegendsofWindemere.wordpress.com
  5. ContentbyDawn.com
  6. Petitemagique.wordpress.com
  7. LauraAnile.com
  8. Dhdunne.blogspot.com
  9. James-Ramsey.com
  10. JohnWHowell.com
29 thoughts on “The Best Moment Award”

  1. Wow right back at you, Melissa! That YT piece is just amazing, the tears were definitely prickling my eyelids! I’m so glad you shared this with us and how talented are to to have made such a stunningly beautiful film, I’m just in awe!
    You are such a lovely lady and deserve your award many times over 🙂
    P.s. maybe you’ll think about doing a youtube tutorial? After seeing that wonderful film I feel all creative 😉 but wouldn’t have a clue where to start!

    1. Thanks Jill! I’m so glad you liked it. I used Windows Movie Maker to create the video. It doesn’t provide the video in the format required by WP so I loaded it to YouTube. It was really very simple to use.

        1. You have to load images, videos and music into MM. But it really is easy. You just load the music and then drop in the images/video clips in the timeline and add titles, etc. I found the clips on videoblocks.com. Very cool website that I recently discovered while looking for free images for blog posts.

  2. That clip was BRILLIANT!!! Making connections and blogging has really inspired me in this past month, and that said everything I have felt and seen myself lately. Beautifully done and very inspiring!

  3. Hi Melissa, a very nice post and congratulations on your success. I will enjoy reading through your blog. My best regards, James 🙂

  4. Melissa – Thank you for the nomination. It is going to be tough to measure up to your acceptance speech but I accept the challenge. To achieve what we envision, our paths have very similar elements and I am so glad to have the opportunity of getting to share in your journey.

  5. Only discovered your blog about 2 weeks ago via the amazing Charles Yallowitz, but I wished I’d discovered it earlier.

    Keep up the great posts! 🙂

  6. I love the video you made! Awesome job! I found you via a search engine when looking up the Best Moment Award, since I have been recently nominated for it. I am going to be posting my acceptance tomorrow, and think I might use/share this video on my blog! (I hope you don’t mind!)

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

