The Sunshine Award

Okay, calm down, dork. This isn’t the Oscars, but wow! I really am very honored that someone would think enough of my little ramblings to nominate me for an award. A very special thank you to Kira Lyn Blue (Don’t you love her name?) for the nomination. Kira means “like the sun” according to the Russian translation.  How do I know this? I was tossing this name around for a character in a novel I’m writing and I always have to find out the meaning of the name. There are other translations but I really liked this one. Seems fitting that Kira “Like the Sun” Lyn Blue nominated me for the Sunshine Award.

So what is the Sunshine Award? It’s “recognition from fellow bloggers to those who sunshine-award1positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.” I have received so much positive energy from others in the blogosphere. I never imagined I’d be included in that category. That just makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, sort of like sunshine breaking through the clouds and warming my face.

The Rules:

  • Include the award’s logo in a post or on your blog
  • Link to the person who nominated you
  • Answer 10 questions about yourself
  • Nominate 10 bloggers
  • Link your nominees to the post and comment on their blogs letting them know they have been nominated

10 Things about Me

  1. Favorite Color: Can I just say ROYGBIV? I mean, it’s really hard to pick one. In high school it was red and black because I was going through a rocker phase and yes I owned a pair of parachute pants, in red to go with a black “zipper” shirt. Did I just admit that? When I met my husband it became the color of his eyes. Think of the beautiful hue of the Caribbean Sea as it reaches the sandy beaches of the shore – that’s pretty darn close! When I got married my favorite color was fuchsia (that’s hot pink for all you guys) because I love Stargazer Lilies and well, everything had to match. No, I wasn’t a bridezilla, at least I don’t think I was. And now, it’s orange because it just makes me HAPPY! See why I can’t pick just one?
  2. Favorite Animal: Dogs. Like I stated in a recent post, they have a way of wiggling into your heart.
  3. Favorite Number: My horoscope says I’m ruled by the number 9 (whatever that means). Any number added to 9 yields that number and any number multiplied by 9 yields a 9. Like karma, you get back what you give out. But, I like 13 {GASP!} I always felt like 13 got a bum rap, so I kind of adopted it. It was my jersey number when I played soccer. And wouldn’t you know it, some of the best things have happened to me on the 13th. My daughter was born on that day and she is one of the greatest blessings of my life.
  4. Favorite Non-Alcoholic Drink: Decaf Chai Tea Latte. Drinking one right now.
  5. Favorite Alcoholic Drink: Mexican Martini, with salt and extra olives and it must come with the shaker or I feel gypped. Oh, and another one that I’ve been introduced to recently: Diet Crush with Whipped Cream Vodka.It tastes like a creamsicle, remember those? Maybe that’s where my affinity for the color orange comes from.
  6. Facebook or Twitter: Before I started blogging I would’ve said Facebook but I agree with Kira. It’s WordPress all the way, baby!
  7. My Passions: Spending time with my family and friends, running/biking/swimming, reading and of course, writing.
  8.  Prefer Getting or Giving Presents: Giving because seeing the delight in their face is like getting a gift too. It’s a “twofer!”
  9. Favorite City: Austin, Texas. Although I’d love to visit Auckland, New Zealand, really any place in New Zealand. And yes, that was before they filmed LOTR, although that just increased my desire to visit. Okay, back to Austin: My family moved here when I was a little girl and I was horrified at the thought. “Won’t there be cactus and desert and cowboys wielding guns and shootouts? I’ll have to wear cowboy boots and eat steak and drink iced tea!” Well, Austin isn’t the cactus-filled desert I had imagined. It’s a beautiful place, with rolling hill country and lakes. It’s also known as the live music capital of the world so it has a rich nightlife. Oh, and I ended up liking tea and steak, and I own a pair of cowboy boots.
  10. Favorite TV Shows: The Walking Dead. How long must we wait for the next season to start? It’s torture! Never thought I’d go for post-apocalyptic zombie land but I’m hooked. It’s the best thing I’ve seen since Lost.

And my nominations are: {drumroll please}

  1. Lori’s Inner Goddess: My first friend on WordPress. She’s a writer/editor who has been going through a rough time lately. I miss seeing her comments. Hopefully this award will cheer her up a bit.
  2. Jill London: A children’s author who lives in the UK. I hear a distinctly British accent in my head when I read her blog, especially when she uses words like “lovely” (which I use too but I’m certain doesn’t sound nearly as eloquent). Oh, and sometimes when I comment I inadvertently convert to the UK spelling of certain words. I guess it’s the blogging equivalent of picking up the accent of those you converse with.
  3. James Ramsey: Author of Andromeda Rising, the first book in her paranormal fiction series coming out in May. Check out her blog. I think you’ll be as excited as I am to read it.
  4. Legends of Windemere: NY based fantasy fiction author Charles Yallowitz, who has released a new book: Legends of Windemere. It’s available on Amazon and will be free this weekend only (Friday – Sunday). I just bought my copy and have been reading it. The opening scene makes me think of the Prancing Pony in the LOTR. Yeah, like Charles, I’m a LOTR fanatic. I can practically speak Elvish, mellon (that’s elvish for friend, by the way).
  5. Disregardtheprologue: Don’t you love the title of her blog? YA/NA Fantasy author Kate Sparks.
  6. Thoughts and Ideas from Deanie Humphrys-Dunne:  Children’s book author who always has a kind or encouraging word for me. Her comments brighten my day so I wanted to return the favor.
  7. Readful Things Blog : Writer, book reviewer, prolific blogger, Ionia Martin. She posts several times a day, all very well written. Not sure how she does it. I’m wondering if she possesses magic powers or maybe she’s a vampire and doesn’t require sleep.
  8. The Wandering Barefoot Editor: A lover of books who offers freelance copyediting and proofreading services.
  9. Tricia Drammeh:   YA fantasy/paranormal author blogging about her experience with writing and publishing.
  10. Julie Green: An Australian artist/writer/photographer/intern/college student/whew! She is immensely talented and only twenty two! I hear an Australian accent when I read her blog.

Hmm…that’s got me wonderin’ if people hear a Texan accent when they read mine. Just so you know, I really don’t have that southern twang, at least that’s what I’ve been told.

Thank you again, Kira, for this MAJOR AWARD! I’ll end with a clip from one of my favorite movies:

19 thoughts on “The Sunshine Award”

  1. Congrats!!

    You deserve a thousand awards for all the sunshine you bring to the blog-o-sphere!

    The way you write your posts allows anyone who reads them to feel and experience everything you are trying to convey!

    It’s absolutely wonderful!

    =]

  2. Woop! Woop! I love awards!!! (Yes, I’m going to use exclamation points and lots of them!!!!) Thank-you so much, Melissa. It really does feel like the Oscars (and it’s damn certain the closest I’ll ever get to it too! ;-)) I think a sunshine award is so apt for you as you are such a ray of sunshine in the blogosphere! My only disappointment is that I won’t be able to send you this award or the wonderful Julie Green 😦 but I can’t stay sad for long, coz I just got an award!!! Yes!!!!

    1. If I’m a ray of sunshine it’s because I’m drawing from all the positive energy I get from others in the blogosphere, like you 🙂 so thank you for that. And I’m certain this is not the best award you’ll receive. You are destined for many, many more.

  3. Wow! Nothing like a surprise award to part the clouds and bring in the happy. Very fitting that it’s the Sunshine Awards.

    Thank you so much, Melissa, for the award and for the kind words. I’m touched, I’m honored and I’m grateful to be your fellow blogger! 🙂

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

