Shoot ‘Em Up! Rawhide (We Write)!

wild_westAll this upheaval in the publishin’ industry feels a little like I imagine the Wild West did. Everyone is just tryin’ to survive. You have snake oil salesmen, cowboys, outlaws, train robbers, pony express riders, lawmen, and frontiersmen. Oh my! {fanning myself} What’s a sweet southern belle like myself s’posed to do? I guess I might as well keep on:

{Sung to the tune of Rawhide.}

Writin’, writin’, writin’

Writin’, writin’, writin’

Writin’, writin’, writin’

Writin’, writin’, writin’

We write!

Keep writin’, writin’, writin’

Though the slush pile’s swollen,

Keep them queries rollin’

We write!

Though I keep on submittin’

They’re hell-bent on rejectin’

Wishin’ my book would catch their eye.

What things am I missin’?,

Good novel that they’re dissin’,

If they would just read it they would buy

Move ’em on, head ’em up,

Head ’em up, move ’em out,

Move ’em on, head ’em out

We Write!

Set ’em out, write ’em in

Write ’em in, let ’em out,

Cut ’em out, write ’em in

We write!

Self pub’n’, pub’n’, pub’n,

Though agents disapprovin’,

Keep them novels movin’

We Write!

Don’t try to understand ’em,

Just write, e-pub, and brand ’em

Soon our books’ll be known high and wide.

My hearts calculatin’

My readers will be waitin’, be waitin’ for the novel that I write.

Move ’em on, head ’em up

Head ’em up, move ’em on

Move ’em on, head ’em up

We write!

Count ’em out, write ’em in,

Write ’em in, count ’em out,

Count ’em out, write ’em in,

We write!

Writin’, writin’, writin’

Writin’, writin’, writin’

Writin’, writin’, writin’

Writin’, writin’, writin’

We write!

WE WRITE!

Hope you enjoyed that. Now get back to writin’, writin, writin’!

21 thoughts on “Shoot ‘Em Up! Rawhide (We Write)!”

    1. Thanks! I’ve been reading so much about traditional publishing vs. e-publishing lately that the thoughts have been a swirlin’, swirlin’, swirlin’, keep those thoughts a whirlin’
      Damn! Still have that tune stuck in my head 😉

    1. LOL, I’m actually trying to keep myself from editing my MS. I’m following the advice of letting it stew for a few weeks, actually six weeks is the recommendation. SIX WEEKS! Seems like an eternity so I’m working on my WIP and doing just about anything I can to keep me distracted from the MS. Need to have fresh eyes when I look at it again 🙂

      1. I did my stewing, My edits are at the direction of my editor. Once they’re done I’ll be putting out advance reading copies to reviewers and then it will be for sale through Amazon, Barnes and Noble and Chapters/Indigo.

        I swear writing it was definitely the easy part and I never thought I wold say that.

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

