Pets Have a Way of Wiggling Into Your Heart

Today marks the 9th anniversary of the death of our beloved Scout.me and scout

I remember the day my husband brought him home. I awoke to the jingling of a bell. My husband stood at my bedside with a grin tugging at the corners of his mouth. He slapped his thigh and said, “C’mon boy.”

That was the moment Scout walked, or rather lumbered, into my life. His massive paws were too big for his body and made him a little clumsy. The moment that adorable brindle boxer puppy with floppy ears and big brown eyes looked up into my eyes I was smitten.

“Happy birthday Baby,” my husband said.

“Oh my God! He’s adorable! What should we call him?”

“I’ve always liked the name Scout.”

scoutScout eventually grew into those monstrous paws and tipped the scales at eighty-five pounds of solid muscle. With his bulk and brindle markings he was sometimes mistaken for a pit bull and people would shrink back in fear. I have to admit there were times when I nearly jumped out of my skin at the sight of him too. He had this annoying habit of pawing at my bedside in the middle of the night. Still groggy from sleep I’d open my eyes to see “The Batman” silhouetted against the nightlight.

After recovering from a mini heart attack, I’d realize it was just my big goofy dog asking to go outside to do his business.

He certainly could seem menacing from afar but one look into those big brown eyes and there was no mistaking the sweet soul inside.  When asked if he’d attack we’d just laugh and say, “Oh yeah, he’s a ferocious guard dog alright.  If anything, he’ll just lick you to death!”

Scout was unaware of his mammoth size. He thought he was a lap dog. He often crawled in my lap, or at least tried to, especially when I was getting ready for work in the morning. Putting on makeup with a beast of a dog trying to cuddle with you and lick your face was quite a challenge.

I’ll never forget Scout’s first experience with the lake. My husband tried to coax Scout to get in the water with him but he just looked on from the shore, too scared to venture in. Scout paced back and forth as my husband waded deeper into the water. Scout couldn’t be persuaded to get in the water so my husband went under to see what he would do. Scout immediately jumped in, dismissing his fears, and swam to “save” his buddy.

One afternoon my husband was sitting next to Scout, repeatedly blowing in his face. Each time Scout glared at my husband as if to warn him to stop. But my husband loves to pick so he kept at it. Scout finally had enough. The next time he turned to my husband he opened his mouth and placed his massive jaws over my husband’s face. Of course he didn’t bite down but he was sending a very clear message. “Look buddy, I’ve had enough. I love you so there’s no way I would ever hurt you, but don’t tempt me.”

If you believe a dog doesn’t have personality, well then you’ve never loved one. Scout was the manifestation of Scooby Doo, just as goofy and lovable. It was as if he jumped out of the TV screen and wiggled his way into our hearts. In fact, he turned in circles until he found just the right spot, as all dogs do, and nestled there forever.

10 thoughts on “Pets Have a Way of Wiggling Into Your Heart”

  1. Absolutely Melissa, we know we’re gonna be devastated when our lovely Lucy goes up to the great park in the sky but we wouldn’t have missed her for the world 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing your memories of Scout with us Sweetie x Hope you have the best day 🙂

    1. Thanks Jill! Pets bring so much joy. It’s funny how they can lift you out of a sour mood with just a simple wag of their tail or a nudge to your hand 🙂
      You have a wonderful day too!

  2. That’s a beautiful story, Melissa. Our dog, Elliott, was a rescue dog from the pound. He’d been there longer than any other-6 months! But no one would consider him because he’s part Staffordshire Terrier and he has the big head and brindle spots like some pit bulls. He’s the most loving and funny guy. Just like Scout, Elliott thinks he’s a little teacup puppy and climbs into our lap. Then he’ll plunk his big foot on our lap, so we can’t move. He’s amazing and he’s featured in to of my stories, Charlene the Star and Charlene the Star and Hattie’s Heroes. You’ll see him on the covers. When we went to the pound that day, we intended to adopt a yellow lab because our chocolate lab had recently passed away. But our son said, Mom, we should get Elliott, he’s got character! He does indeed.

  3. So true. My bulldog is the most spoiled member of the family. He takes up the entire bed, so I sleep at the very edge where I am apt to fall off in the middle of the night. He takes over the couch and steals my sandwiches and leaves unpleasant smells in my bathroom while I am in the shower. I couldn’t live without him.

  4. Awww you got me all teary! I lost my baby last year and one the year before that. Casey and Haylee were my furry children. Then there was Jayda – My partner, baby and best friend. We used to compete in dog sports together and she would even defend me against my hubby when the two of us would wrestle.

    They change our lives, enriching us making us better before leaving far too soon. I still have furry children (far too many according to hubby) but those first three, my pack, will forever be special.

    1. I know what you mean. Scout was our first baby. We got him less than a month after we were married. His death was difficult for both of us. It was only the 2nd time I’d seen my husband cry; a real deep, can’t-catch-your- breath cry. Burying him was one of the hardest things we’ve done.

  5. Oh man, I’m sat in the middle of the office at work trying not cry. Wonderful memories to share with us Melissa. Going to go home in a minute and fuss the hell out of Roxy, also Brindle. She will sigh and pretend to be aloof about it, but she’s loves it.

    Great post.

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

