The Aspiring Author’s Learning Curve

What does my learning curve on this journey to becoming a published author look like? I wish I could say it is an elegant “J” curve, but sadly that’s not the case. It started out as a reclining “J” or worse, a “J” in the prone position. But hey, it has flipped over now so at least it’s lying supine where it can actually lift its little head. Hopefully the rest of the body will follow and it will be standing tall some day.

So, what have I learned so far? There is no possible way to sum it up in one little post so I will break it down into separate topics.  First up: WORD COUNT.

4 thoughts on “The Aspiring Author’s Learning Curve”

  1. Word count is intimidating. I signed up for NaNoWriMo last year and I found the projected words per day extremely overwhelming. Not only how many words you needed to write per day but if you fell behind or didn’t write for a day or two, there seemed to be no way to catch up.

    I look forward to hearing what your thoughts are on the subject, Melissa. 🙂

    1. Would you believe that I just recently found out what NaNoWriMo stands for? LOL. I would love to attempt this in November. There are days when the words just come pouring out of me and then there are days when it’s just an ocassional drip. It would be challenging for sure. Not sure I could keep up with the pace, but I love a challenge. So, how did you do?

      1. I had never heard of NaNoWriMo before I started reviewing books. Then I saw it posted all over and thought “What the heck does THAT mean?” 😉 Last year was the first year I attempted it and I did not do well. I basically was done about 3 days in. Just too much “real life” going on. But a lot of people manage to write their books or at least get a major portion of their book done.

        Maybe I’ll try again this year – – and we can be each other’s cheerleaders!

Don't be shy! I'd love to hear from you.

